National Parks of the West 2012 Day 2: Drive Through Idaho to West Yellowstone, MT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho
June 1st 2012
Published: March 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Idaho is pretty!!!! No really, it is. It seems to have a reputation for being a boring state but wow is it pretty! Sure, driving through some parts are kind of boring but the scenery and green fields and mountains more than make up for it. It was a pleasure driving through small towns with their Mormon Temples and main streets. I would not mind living here...for a year only though.



My goal was to make it to West Yellowstone by nightfall. I had left Salt Lake City pretty early in the morning, driving through traffic and Mormon mega-suburbia. I stopped by briefly at the Potato Museum. Being a horrible speller I always forget how to actually spell it. They have what they claim is the World's Largest Potato up front. Its large but I think someone could go larger.



I stumbled across advertisements for Lava Hot Springs while looking for something to do on my way to West Yellowstone. I pretty much had the place to myself. The water was nice and bubbly hot and natural. I bet its great to actually take a dip in them in the middle of winter. After a relaxing hour or so I headed out. I took the road that took me directly behind the Grand Tetons. The mountains are indescribable. They just seem to jut out of the land with their sharp snowy peaks.



Afterwards I took a short detour to go see the Mesa Falls. This was a nice waterfall to relax at. Its thundering water can be heard from far away.



Finally after about 6 hours I made it to West Yellowstone, a small frontier town that has kept its charm. It is the perfect gateway to Yellowstone National Park. I bought myself a National Park Pass and the idea crept in me that maybe just maybe I should camp out the night!



But after driving through the park and seeing so many Bear Warning signs I decided that maybe I shouldn't. I mean I've had enough fast food in my life that I probably naturally sweat it out. Bears can sniff me from miles away and come to eat me. So yeah maybe camping out wouldn't be the best of ideas.



I took a short drive through Yellowstone. I marveled at the beauty and pristine natural settings. I delighted in the buffalo/bison that freely roamed the land. This quick drive through was worth it. But tomorrow, I shall have plenty of time to explore the park. I can't wait!



I headed back to West Yellowstone and found a little cheap motel for the night. I needed a good night's sleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb