Week of Anticipation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho » Idaho Falls
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting at the Villa Coffeehouse in Idaho Falls trying to figure out how to write a blog entry. So I guess this is my first if it works. If entries seem disjointed at first, bare with me. For anyone who doesn't know about my endeavor, I am flying to London on March 31st to start my three month trek across Europe. 1 month in France, 1 month in Italy, and 1 month split up between Croatia, Slovenia, Italy again, Austria, Germany, and Belgium. That is of course if everything goes as planned.

I have never traveled outside of the U.S. before (except for Baja Mexico and the Bahamas) and I'm going about this with a fervor equal to a wolverine attacking a huckleberry pie. In order to make the most of my trip I have laid down a few rules for myself:

1. Try new things. This means that any new opportunity that is presented to me, I must do it no matter how crazy or disgusting it might seem as long as it doesn't endanger my life (feel free to call me out on this matter). This should make things more exciting for both you and me.

2. Write everything down. In my previous newsletters that I have sent out, I have limited myself to 2 or 3 paragraphs a week which needless to say is not going to cut it for this trip. I really love to write, but I never have the patience to do it. So, I am going to attempt to write much more in depth, which means that my entries could get long. I'm sorry and I won't be offended if you don't read all of them. I feel like this will be a great way for me to remember every detail of my trip and essentially I'm forcing you to do so as well. ha. I'm also not going to constrain myself very much. I might get a little crude (but not too crude because my parents will be reading) and I will write about anything that comes into mind including my own life philosophies and personal information that most people would be better off not knowing. I am warning you now in case I offend people's sensitivities.

3. Screw your sensitivities.

4. I am not limiting the rules that I set for myself, so I'm sure there will be more, but that is all I can think of right now.


I am getting extremely antsy and excited so if you see me around town and I burst into giddy laughter, well you know why. It's kind of a similar feeling as to when you first start dating someone you really like and you have uncontrollable giggles, speech and bowel movements. It's all part of the package.

Sometimes I will blog everyday, sometimes it will be a week before I can get to a computer, but I won't let you down. I'm not as consistent as your newspaper, but fortunately for you, the content will be less depressing.
See you in Europe.
Paul.

Advertisement



23rd March 2010

I feel like I'm going to Europe!
I cannot WAIT for the first Euro Blog Entry! Woop woop. I love the "I will try anything" rule too (so long as this excludes sex with prostitutes- notice I said sex-, ingesting hair or fur, and- for your sake- anything having to do with wet dirty paper) . Goddddd, this is going to be a hilarious, crazy-fun trip and I can't wait to see pictures and hear stories. I really can't wait to hear some more stuff! Love and hugs!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb