Made It


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho » Boise
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Boise late last night. The aunt had beds ready and we crashed out. The drive was a long one, we caught the 7:20 ferry out of Bremerton, Seattle at 8:20 and we were on the road. (The ferry gave us, and specifically Little Z, a nice wake up time to run around before sitting in the truck for hours).
Kennewick was the lunch stop. Towing a trailer for the first time makes for nervous parking... finding a place that we can get into and out of safely. Walmart allows for a monstrous parking lot and a trailer taking up 6 spots is unnoticed. McD's was a good stop this time as the climbing toys again gave Little Z a place to burn off some energy. As we were finishing up our lunch a McD's employee stopped by our table and offered Little Z an extra Ice Cream cone that was prepared on accident. Eye's wide little Z accepted and enjoyed her first Ice Cream cone (with a little help from mom and dad :O)

Back on the road again we crossed into our first state, Oregon. The drive through Oregon was nice, lots of hills and
Playing In the DirtPlaying In the DirtPlaying In the Dirt

The girls had fun transporting water to the secret garden and making mud.
trees (through parts), over the Cayuse, and down the valleys towards Ontario. Some time after lunch though, Zorah started getting a head ache. This head ache slowly turned into a migraine as the miles went by. Down around Huntington it was starting to get serious. As anyone with a two year old will tell you, the volume nob is just not something that they have a handle on yet. By the time we got to Ontario there was no helping it and we were stopping at whatever medical center they had available.
The Hospital staff was pretty good once they got Zorah into the room. Zeddicus and Little Z went and played in the trailer in the parking lot while the doctors were taking care of mommy. The hospital staff was wonderful as that was one of the fastest trips to an ER that I've ever witnessed*.
Prior to the emergency stop in Ontario made a quick stop in Huntington Oregon to fill up on gas. I always forget the first time in Oregon that you can't fill your own gas tank. Huntington was an interesting little town. This is one of those places that bars out number the combination of any other business on the main street.

Mommy still wasn't feeling well after the ER but we decided to push forward and make the 1 hour drive in to Boise. Auntie was wonderful and had stayed up to wait for us and get Zorah put to bed right away. Little Z and Zeddicus made up beds in the downstairs and crashed out right away.

This morning was a nice relaxing morning of sleeping in (there's an hour different here so we weren't really sleeping in our time). The sun is out and Aunt Heidi has a beautiful back yard that Little Z has been playing in. We are just now taking a break for lunch and nap, and then we'll be out doing a little shopping and some organizing of the Trailer so we are prepared to head out early in the morning on our next leg of the trip.


* not that trips to the ER are common for us.

Advertisement



9th June 2007

*hugs*
Sorry you ended up with a migraine so soon in your trip! I hope things go better for the rest of it! Things here are great and I finally found a decent place to walk this morning. That'll probably be my walking path the rest of the time. Forest Grove called though, they hired someone else. And that was my backup. So I'm pretty upset right now about the (lack of) job situation. I don't know what will happen. :(
29th June 2007

About the migraine
I have never hurt so badly in my life. I wanted to die. Zedd took Z and parked the truck/trailer after dropping me off in front of the ER. I go in, register.. whispering my answers to the poor lady behind a plate glass bulletproof window, and I go to sit down. TV blaring, ER full... no seating. So I end up curling up in a corner, head in hands, in tears and ready to puke when the BEST LOOKING HISPANIC guy EVER walks up to me, WITH HIS CHAIR, helps me in to it and asks if I'm okay, can he get me anything etc. Of course, still trying not to vomit, I tell him thank you SO much, I'm waiting to be called and my husband is on his way in. (I got nervous as here I am kind of incapacitated and this guy is talking to me) By the time Zedd came in, I was having a panic attack. My head felt like it was ready to explode, too much pressure etc. FINALLY I get called back. Blood pressure elevated, temp up... and I finally vomit. Admitting nurse walks me to a darkened exam room, tells me to get in the bed and put this huge gown on. Okay, first of all, when you have a migraine, you just don't want to move, speak.. nada. When you're also holding a bag of puke and the nurse walks out and you don't know what to do? Hang it on the IV pole!! Conveniently located next to the bed, roll in to the bed gently so as to neither disturb your head OR the pole and then just curl up and say heck with the gown. A male nurse comes in at this point and kind of helps me out. I think Zedd was there too, but I just can't remember much until the meds kick in. (There was an IV drip started, ER DR came in and put me on a med, then rolled me to have a CAT Scan done) Ahh... the meds. Helped the migraine right away. Bonus? They also are good for nausea!! What is the downside? I am as itchy and twitchy and restless as I have ever felt. I just wanted out of the bed, out of the hospital, I had to walk. They had to get the IV out. And I started to have a panic attack. Zedd tried to calm me down, but we later found out from the Nurse, that the meds I was given have the side effect of causing panic and make you feel antsy. I got a shot of Benadryl to counteract the original med, then they released me to continue on to Boise with the family. I felt horribly for Zedd's Aunt because here we show up and I have to roll straight in to bed. THEN for the next day I am unable to sit. I can not relax to save my life. I have the shakes horribly and didn't sleep the night before. Still dont' feel like eating, but I know it'll make me feel better. Anyway, Zedd's family was WONDERFUL!! We hope to go back and visit again when we have more time to meander in Boise and when I'm not feeling so out-of-sorts the entire visit. More to come.... - Zorah

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb