My weekend!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
July 26th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, because I actually have more time for my online class than I thought I have I post another entry already. I know, you guys are sleeping right now and haven’t even read my first journal. I am sitting at school and I am lazy. Right now I need a study break.
Here is a report about my weekend:
On Saturday the GSA did some volunteering work. Over the last few weeks I was in contact with Jen and 8 motivated German students decided to help out at a family day in Kaneohe. We ‘worked’ 3 hours and got a lot of sun. Jenny and I - ok short intro: Jenny is a really good friend of mine, who works with me. She is in love with a local boy (Hawaiian) and will probably have cute little Hawaiian babies in a few years. She is from Germany, too, but doesn’t even know if she will ever see the country again. She studies TIM (travel industry management) and next to her job in the international center she takes care of me. - Jenny and I worked for the entertainment crew. Basically we did not have to do a lot. We threw Frisbees and helped to clean up the place. Jenny went shopping- of course!!! The best thing was when we tried to find Kaneohe. Jenny drove the car of a friend- poor students with an old car. Everybody who has ever been to Hawaii knows what an old car means (I see Casper smiling). Ok, on the highway the radio went of, the windows did not go up again (that wasn’t too bad, the car didn’t have AC- air conditioning- anyways) and the blinker did not work anymore. Yah- on the highway and no way to show the people that we want to switch the line. But ok, we survived. Up the hills I thought we have to push the car to get up. But with a lot of nice we made it!! When we finally arrived the whole car worked again perfectly. Oh ja, at the very beginning we tried to fill the tank. Ok, two Germans who never filled the tank of a car in the US. Why on earth is the system so different? We had to ask two guys and I could see in their face what they thought- STUPID CHICKS!!! But we even made that.
On the way back the car worked perfectly and we even found the right way- no extra route. In the afternoon I went running and hung out with my neighbors.
The night was really crazy. Because of an argument with a friend - too personal to mention it- I slept 1.5 hours the night. However, I had promised my coach to do a race. Yes Casper, I actually raced again. Short intro: Casper is an awesome teammate of mine. Last year he lived across the street and ran with me at HPU. Unfortunately, he decided to move back to Denmark to finish his master and to start his political career. Yes, he actually studies politics. But no, he is not boring!!!! He made me wonder if there is a direct relationship between drinking alcohol and running fast. I am still amazed how many “appropriate amounts of alcohol” he can drink. And still he is such a good runner- especially marathon. Casper I hope you are fresh!!! ( insider- sorry guys)
Yah, I was a little bit unmotivated to race. However, I won a beach race in Kailua on Sunday. My first race after a few months. 4.4 miles (7km) at the beach. Christian (my coach) and I had a beautiful sunset. Christian screwed up by the way. There was also a German tourist running. I nearly got him. Tss, I was so close. After the race I jumped into the ocean. Awesome!!! Christian then invited me for breakfast because I hadn’t eating anything before the race.
At home (it was only ten, the races are here at 7 in the morning) I left to study. I actually studied in a park. In the afternoon I cleaned my apartment and went grocery shopping. I went to Sam’s club. This is a store where you have to be a member. You get everything in huge amounts and way cheaper. My friend is a member and drove me down there. I bought so much that he was making fun of me. “Do you need to feed a whole family??”
Hello? I saved a lot of money!!! In the evening I went running again. After I talked to Jenny for a while I finally slept.
That was my weekend!

More soon!



Advertisement



30th July 2006

:-)
Nice blog you have there girl! Keep up the good work, my own blog died almost completely after 4 months or so, it's hard to keep it up, but I think you're the girl for it! And thanks for the kind words, as usual you have an eye for the truth in things - except I don't think you actually become a better runner the more beers you consume... It's more like, hmm...there was this Nutella-commercial on Danish TV many years ago with some Danish windsurfing-guy, saying something like: "It probably doesn't make you a better surfer, but it tastes great you know!" It's kinda the same thing with running and beers - and no forget: A happy runner is a better runner! :-D Cheers and hugs, Casper
22nd August 2006

whatdya mean?
What do you mean I screwed up...I didn't do it on purpose!!!
23rd August 2006

But you still did.... Cu at practice.

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb