So, like, Aloha


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waimanalo
October 21st 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In honor of my first trip off of the continent of North America, I hereby inaugurate this travel blog.

We are in Hawaii. Specifically, we are in a beach house in Waimanalo on the island of Oahu, and we are two houses away from the beach. Well, that's what the literature said, but I'm a mathematically rigorous type of fellow, and by my count we are three, not two, houses from the beach. There's our house, then the house next door, then the house across the street, then the beach. That's three. We're staying in the Sea Breeze Beach House and I highly recommend it.

The story of why we're in Hawaii is an interesting one. Cheryl, a longtime and dear friend of the family, had a run in with a car while crossing the street near where she works, resulting in a very broken leg and a long recuperation period during which time, I and Barb and Laura banded together with her mother and stepfather to take care of her.

She's all better now, and decided to say thank you by taking us to Hawaii.

And so here we are. My first impression of Hawaii is
Sea Breeze Beach HouseSea Breeze Beach HouseSea Breeze Beach House

The view of the east(ish) side of the house from the yard.
that it is very warm and humid here. Given that it is south of the Tropic of Cancer, it is not rocket science to come to this conclusion without the actual experiment of coming here. However, when we
stepped off of the plane, that's the first thing that came to mind. Warm and humid like a Missouri summer, except it's October and it's just unnatural that it's this warm.

There's not quite as many of us as Mike and Carol Brady had on their trip to Hawaii, but there is a lovely lady, a handsome fellow and some children and so forth (I'll leave it as an exercise to the reader to figure out who is which). I will definitely watch out for the tiki idol, though, and hopefully we won't have any bad luck.

Stay tuned...

For more photos, see my Hawai'i 2006 Flickr set.

Advertisement



26th October 2006

Aloha!
Hi! I hope you are having a great time! I miss you! :P Are you learning to hula dance?

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb