Birthday Bean


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
February 4th 2018
Published: February 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Undoubtably, she will ask me today, “So, how does it feel to have a 19 yr old daughter?”
My response will be - “Beautiful, it feels beautiful”.

She came into this world 19 yrs ago today with so much fire and spice, it seemed to set the tone for her path. I often look at Rio and have said on countless occasions, “how did I ever give birth to you!” It’s become a joke at times but the truth of the matter is - Rio has always been the person I wished I could have been growing up.

Our relationship has been shaped by life circumstances and I have always been conscious of Rio’s presence. It’s hard to miss it, she’s got this forceful nature that barges right into your heart ❤️

As I think back over the past 19 yrs I am flooded with emotion for so many reasons today. This was the age that changed me, 19. It was the age that shaped me into who I would later become as a mother.

There’s a powerful release in me today that I’m finding so hard to attach the appropriate words to. I knew it was
coming, I just didn’t know when. As I look at her I am able to see a reflection of my story. So, so, so, so, so, so, so young. You see, I lost my mother at Rio’s age. This is a monumental time in my life as her mother. I will try to use it to heal a bit. I will stand a little taller in the love department today, with gratitude to my mother, for the example she showed me.

Today will be filled with adventure and undeniable beauty and appreciation for life. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere other than where we are.

Aloha

Happy Birthday Bean ❤️



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement










Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb