Finally Made it to Hanauma


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
July 19th 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

July 17-19
Yes! I've been wanting to go to Hanauma Bay to snorkel since the first week I got here and today was the day. Eagerly, I hopped out of bed at 7am and quickly packed my bags for the day. By 7:30, I still hadn't heard Bill stirring in his room upstairs, so I texted him. Nothing. Knocked on his door...nothing. Called...and apparently, woke him up. Not good since we had to catch an 8:15 bus about a mile away. Bill was hungover. No, he was actually still drunk. And moving quite slowly. We ended up running to catch the bus and luckily made it. The bus only runs once an hour, and Hanauma Bay is known to get quite packed, so we really did want to arrive there as early as possible. Standing room only on the bus wasn't looking too good on Bill judging from the pale pallor on his face. Me? I was great!

You have to watch a short video upon arrival at Hanauma Bay before you're allowed to go snorkel; it basically tells you not to touch anything in the water or stand on the reefs. Okay...easy enough. They made an announcement that if you plan on returning within a year, you can sign your name on a list which will allow you to forgo the video the next time. I signed it - just a little insight into my mind...hopeful that I may be back to Oahu again soon.

Snorkeling was decent, but nothing exceptional. I actually felt like snorkeling I had done on the north shore at Sharks Cove was much better, and on the north shore it's free. We snorkeled for a while, then spent some time laying out on the beach. The current was pretty strong and the water was murky and difficult to see through. The second time we went in, Bill didn't feel too well, but I ended up staying out longer. This time I found great reefs to snorkel around and was able to see some incredibly beautiful fish. I could've spend most of the day there, but Bill wasn't feeling too hot and needed some food, soon. So we left and walked down the road to the town of Hawaii Kai and the Kona Brewery.

I like the Kona Brewery. We ordered pita & hummus for appetizer, and a pizza for lunch; both were
Hanauma BayHanauma BayHanauma Bay

the #1 snorkel destination in Oahu...I think it's a little overrated, but that's just my opinion
delicious! By the end of the meal, Bill was back to his old self. From there we hopped the bus back and arrived home around 4. Nothing much to do in the afternoon...just relaxed and read Harry Potter. I've finally given in and picked it up. Well, it's the third time I've picked up Book 1, but this time I'm committed to the series. I figure if I'm going to be teaching 5th graders next year, it can only help me to have read it. Later on Bill and I watched "Slumdog Millionaire". It was my second time seeing it, and his first, but such a great movie!

Saturday morning...Niketown. I'm trying to be good and train for the 1/2 marathon in San Diego next month. I signed up for it many months ago, and although circumstances have changed, I am still planning on doing it. Which means that I need to start getting longer runs in; something that I haven't done much of here. With that in mind, I ran to Niketown and signed up for the longest run: a 7.3 miler around Diamond Head. Luckily, it was an overcast day and a little rainy too, so it
Bon DanceBon DanceBon Dance

I think these were the names of lost loved ones who were being celebrated
wasn't too bad at all. Terry even ran most of it with me which was nice to have company. I figure I got in around 9 miles, which is encouraging.

In the afternoon I walked back down to the beach to my favorite spot to lay out, swim in the ocean, and just relax. I got a few nice hours in before rushing back home to get ready for the evening. Last month I really didn't get much for a tan, but this month....whoa! I've got the whitest tan lines ever.

Bill made plans for us to join a few of his friends to go watch a bon dance. (prounounced bone) It's an Asian ceremony that honors the dead with a celebration of eating and dancing...and at some they send candles out to sea...but not the one we went to. This one was held in Haleiwa on the North shore and by the time we arrived, after getting a little lost finding it, there wasn't too much to see. We did participate in some of the dancing, and a few of them lit incense in the temple while the (priest?) hit them on the back with these giant
Me & BillMe & BillMe & Bill

enjoying the Haleiwa sunset. whoa! look at those tanlines!
beads while chanting. I'm not doing it justice, it was quite cool, but definitely different. I'm glad that I got to see it.

It was still early as we made our way back home, so we decided to go Cosmic bowling. Bill's friend, Kurt, is in the Military, so he took us to the bowling alley on Base. Pretty cool! Not that it's any different than any other bowling alley...which I suppose I expected it to be. I impressed the guys with a strike and a spare in the first two frames, and was feeling quite good about my bowling abilities, even winning the first game! But those abilities quickly disappeared and back to my old, under 100 score for the second game.

Sunday morning, Bill and I decided to walk down to Bogarts for breakfast. I let myself down, choosing once again to go with the bagel, cream cheese, tomato, capers and sprouts. Not that it's not delicious, but I don't know why I passed up the haupia pancakes! I think I was trying to save money.

Mid-afternoon came and I was disappointed with myself for the lazy, do nothing day, so I went for a
Bon DanceBon DanceBon Dance

Everyone dances around a circle...I even jumped in to give it a try
long run. I ran all the way down and around Magic Island in Ala Moana Park, then headed back. I did stop and sit for about 20 minutes to have a fun phone conversation with my friend Jen, but then finished the run back home. Surprisingly, it was 7 miles in all and it was really easy! I'm realizing that I love running when my surroundings are inspiring and beautiful - well and the weather is incredible. I just don't get this same inspiration and feelings from running in Arizona.

Tomorrow: early rise...going to ride the bus to the north shore to snorkel with the turtles!




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Hungover BillHungover Bill
Hungover Bill

I don't think he even knows I took this picture ha ha
Hanauma Bay BeachHanauma Bay Beach
Hanauma Bay Beach

overcrowded with tourists
Me & BillMe & Bill
Me & Bill

forgot the flash
My bowling shoesMy bowling shoes
My bowling shoes

The only pictures that I managed to take at the bowling alley all night were of my feet?


22nd July 2009

Poor Bill..
What a trooper heading off to go snorkeling hungover..or even worse, still drunk. On a snorkel trip in Puerto Vallarta - yes, I went on a snorkel trip but didn't snorkel - I got so sea sick, and felt like I was drunk. I expalined this to one of the hottie boat guys. He told me getting in the water with flippers would be very theraputic. He promised to stay with me. It actually worked. Or maybe I forgot about the ill feeling I had because he was so cute? Gosh, your friend Jen sounds like fun. LOL! Glad we got to chat. I am so happy that you have had such a great experience this summer. I wish I could run - for even just a mile! Another exciting event you have to look forward to..and I am sure you will have a great time. And I think you have learned to make the best of your circumstances - you are tolerating the cockroaches, right? Jay loves Kona Beer - he buys it frequently. I wish I liked beer, kind of like the running thing. Beer is so much cheaper than what I like to drink! Happy Wednesday - tomorrow!
22nd July 2009

Harry Potter
So I am also attempting to read the series. I am in book three and assured that they get better the more mature the characters become. Don't get me wrong JK is a fantastic author but I have not become fully engrossed yet. Sounds like you are still having a fantastic time! I am so jealous that you can run outside. It is 114 here and I cannot even stand outside let alone run! Keep enjoying yourself! Lacey

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb