A Haole (foreigner) among locals


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
July 12th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

At the Lanikai Bike Path 8kAt the Lanikai Bike Path 8kAt the Lanikai Bike Path 8k

The four of us girls before the run
July 12
I don't like that word as it carries a negative connotation here, but today I was definitely a haole (pronounced kinda like ha-ow-lee).

Somehow it was after midnight when I finally got to sleep which didn't help me to get up at 5am. Exhausted, I hopped out of bed, got dressed, packed all my stuff for the day, then ran out to the busstop. Unfortunately, it never occured to me that it was Sunday and the bus schedule is less frequent. I had only 20 minutes to get down to the meeting place and I began to get concerned that I wouldn't make it to the meeting place in time. With my backpack as heavy as it was, there was no way I could make it more than 2 miles in twenty minutes. Shoot! Just then a cab drove by, so I flagged it down. I hated spending $10 to go two miles, but I did what I had to and got there in time to meet up with Melissa & Jamie.

HeyJeong picked us up and we headed to Kailua. It was a beautiful morning and an incredible location for a run. We registered for the race which was a bargain at only $10, then all took off at our own paces. I was running well actually, I felt great, except for about 2 miles in when I realized that I needed to use the bathroom and there were no bathrooms in sight. The course was a five mile course on the bike path through the Lanikai neighborhood. It got so bad that I ended up having to walk 3 times. I was so disappointed. Luckily, I made it to the end without an embarassing accident.

At the finish line they provided Jamba Juice, muffins, coffee, water, and t-shirts...all for $10! It was so cool. We hung out for a while talking and watching the awards. Melissa even took 3rd place in her age division. By about 9:30, the girls headed back out, and I stayed to go hike the Lanikai Pill Box hike known as the Ka'iwa Ridge. I called Kaina, a guy who Taisha (the bartender in Kailua Bar & Grill I met a few weeks ago) put me in touch with. He's a friend of hers who has a boat and was taking Taisha & her visiting family from Phoenix out to
Pill Box Voiew of KailuaPill Box Voiew of KailuaPill Box Voiew of Kailua

incredible views of the golf course and Enchanted Lakes subdivision
the Sandbar. She had called and invited me earlier in the week and I was thrilled to be asked to come along. So, I called Kaina and he met me in Lanikai for the hike.

This hike is unbelievable. I would recommend it for anyone coming to visit; the views are gorgeous in every direction. It's a quick hike to the top, but from there you could continue on the ridge for at least another hour towards the mountain range. We just hiked up to the top, took some pictures, then headed back down. This is definitely one of my favorite hikes I've done simply for the views.

I went with Kaina to hook up his boat, then to the pier to put it in the water. From there, we drove the boat to his house which is on the water in Kaneohe Bay. Wow! I met a few of his roommates, and shortly we were on our way to pick up Taisha and her friends & family. There were a lot of people; we ended up taking 3 boats out to the sandbar. They were all nice enough, but it was a little awkward being there. I
The SandbarThe SandbarThe Sandbar

all of this is a giant sandbar in the ocean. It's only about 3 feet deep right here.
was just a girl that she met once and invited out, but the rest of them knew eachother and were interested in visiting together. The sandbar was exactly as I had pictured it to be. Tons of boats all crowded and anchored close to eachother. People out there had only one goal...to party, which is great, but I find it difficult to do with people that I don't know. So, I made the most of it. I had one beer, hung out in the water, layed out on the boat, and mingled to the best of my ability. It's not one of my strengths, but I tried.

We spent about 4 hours in all out on the sandbar. Sadly, it was overcast a lot of the time and the water was pretty cold, so it was hard to stay in the water for long periods of time. By the time we packed up to leave, I had goose bumps. From there, everyone went back to Kaina's house to continue the party. I had had enough; it tends to drain me having to be social with people I don't know for that long, and I was looking forward to going home and getting to bed. (Another sign of me getting older).

They all told me to stay and grill with them, stay the night, and they'd give me a ride back in the morning, but I was determined to get back. Finally I got a ride to the bus stop and caught the bus back to my side of the island, roughly an hour long trip. By 10pm I had finally made it back home. Ah...it was nice. I talked to Sabina and confirmed plans to pitch in for the rental car in the morning and spend the day with her, Alex, and Gloria doing a tourist trip along the North Shore. Yay! Back to the North Shore!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Kailua BeachKailua Beach
Kailua Beach

so beautiful!
me at the top of the Pill Box hikeme at the top of the Pill Box hike
me at the top of the Pill Box hike

okay...do I look like Bozo the clown? Why didn't he tell me?
in front of the Nā Mokulua in front of the Nā Mokulua
in front of the Nā Mokulua

even worse Bozo hair! Ugh!
Pill Box view of KailuaPill Box view of Kailua
Pill Box view of Kailua

and the golf course
Kaneohe BayKaneohe Bay
Kaneohe Bay

riding in the boat from the pier
Coconut IslandCoconut Island
Coconut Island

in Kaneohe Bay
The little boatThe little boat
The little boat

docked on the sandbar
our group on the Sandbarour group on the Sandbar
our group on the Sandbar

hanging out in the water, on the boats, and jet skiing,
Another boat of peopleAnother boat of people
Another boat of people

hanging out on the sandbar


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb