Settling in to the Aloha spirit


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 11th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The View from the top of my streetThe View from the top of my streetThe View from the top of my street

There's Safeway at the very bottom...it's pretty close, but it's quite a workout for 3 times a day.
June 10, 2009
12 hours of sleep last night. How about that! I woke up at 9am this morning with intentions to go for a run, but ended up watching "Australia" on my computer for an hour while lying in bed. Good choice of movie to bring, so far I've watched it for 2 days and still have another hour left to watch.

Before I left home, I emailed a guy on Craigslist about a road bike he had for sale. Coincidentally, he is originally from Scottsdale and we're roughly the same age. He and his father run a masonry business here in Honolulu. I called him about the bike and he offered to take me to lunch today. So, instead of the run, I walked down to Safeway to meet up with Jason. It was fun...we went to a sushi place called Genki Sushi on Kapahulu (Jen-this is for you...normally I don't spend much time talking about food, but what the heck - you're the most loyal blog follower ever!) It was one of those places where the sushi circles the "bar" on a conveyor belt and you just take what you want as it passes by. Yummy! Jason
Makalei Park & BeachMakalei Park & BeachMakalei Park & Beach

A tiny little beach I stopped at on my run around Diamond Head. Be happy I didn't take a picture in the opposite direction of the man walking the beach in a thong!
picked most of it out....onion salmon, spicy tuna, etc...it ranged from $1.50-4.00 per plate, so totally affordable. (Jen-sorry if it's a little lame, that's the best I can do :-)

The humor of my food situation is that I'm totally on a self imposed budget. I'm really limiting myself to as little as possible. The food at the grocery store is ridiculously expensive, so I found the cheapest/healthiest stuff I could. (bananas, an orange, yogurt, and wheat thins). Yesterday I got by on coffee, a mini cliff bar, and a Subway sandwich which I split for lunch and dinner. Just like last year, I think I'll be eating Subway's $5 footlong quite often! Today I had a yogurt and wheat thins for breakfast, was treated to lunch, and though I haven't eaten it yet, I'll probably eat a banana for dinner. Mom-don't worry or feel bad for me. If I wanted to eat better food I'm sure I could, it just becomes a game to see how little I can get by on - your offer of money was super thoughtful, but I won't be needing money :-) Starbucks cards, well...that's another story, lol. I'm fairly stocked up on
Huge wavesHuge wavesHuge waves

Watching the surfers on these waves was awesome!
them right now and am using them for a daily coffee and use of the internet. Give it a week or so and they'll definitely know me here.

So, after I left Jason and the bike (which I really think I may buy...I just need to check how much it will be to ship it back home next month) I decided to go for a run around Diamond Head Crater. I was pleasantly surprised to see how close it really was to where I live. It was a beautiful run...I'm guessing at least 5-7 miles in all and while circling the giant crater, I saw a few small beaches and one very cool surfing spot. The waves were insane! I stopped for a little bit to watch and snap a few pics too.

On the way back home a few hours later, I happened upon a yoga studio (next to a fireman store...owned and operated by local firemen....nice!) I met two of the firemen who were just finishing a yoga class and talked for a while. Looks like I could get a good price on a surf lesson...I think I'll look into it. And as for the yoga, it looks great and happens to have a $20 unlimited one week pass for new students, so in the next day or so I'll begin my week of yoga. Everyone has been very nice so far.

Oh...and I did get on Meet Up.com today (thanks for the suggestion Heather) and I found a few groups that look interesting to try. I joined the something Hashers...a local running group that grabs a drink afterwards...or as they call it "a drinking group with a running problem". I've heard of this group before in different cities, so as long as I'm stepping out of my comfort zone, why not try it. I sent an email to the organizer and will hopefully participate in the run this Saturday.

My hips are becoming a little sore from all this walking. I live at the top of a steep street much like those in San Francisco, and to get anywhere, I need to walk down and back up to get home. I love the exercise, but I really am going to treat myself to a beach day tomorrow. I still haven't gotten into the water!

Thank you so much for the supporting, positive emails and comments. Honestly! My favorite part of my days right now is checking my emails - so please keep them coming. I must've sounded really depressed and desperate in the last blog, but don't worry, I'm really doing fine. I can't complain too much....I'm in Hawaii!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Diamond Head EntranceDiamond Head Entrance
Diamond Head Entrance

Didn't hike it yet...just ran around it.


11th June 2009

Um Yeah
You did come off as really depressed as in I think it is time to hide the knives kind of depressed. It was probably just the stress of traveling and the underwhelming accommodations and I suppose fresh air, bright sun and ocean water and beaches will help. A bike to get around seems like a very good idea.
11th June 2009

What Awesome Views!
Hi Jen! Just got home from my workout and I can tell you that my views are nothing like yours! OMG! The sky, the water, the foliage...all so beautiful! Remind yourself everyday that you are doing something amazing. How could you not "grow" from this experience? Sounds like you are being very resourceful and filling your days with things to do. I thank all of you out there that are giving Jen suggestions! It was good to talk to you yesterday and I was relieved, of course, to hear the "upbeat attitude" in your voice (I really don't think it was just for me). I'll check in later Jen. Have a great day and know that I'm thinking of you. Love, MOM
11th June 2009

On you way..
Jen, It sounds like you are well on your way to meeting people! I am so happy you fond a yoga studio. And thanks for the post about food. The problem with HI is that is is so expensive. People need to know if there are good places to eat that are worth going back to. You did a great job sharing about your sushi. All I need is the name of a restaurant and if you mention the name, I am assuming you'd go back to the place. And bravo to the poster above for mentioning House Without A Key. I have a list of ten cheap place to eat in HI from the AZ Republic. I will email you a few places. You need to eat with all that working out you are doing. You pictures are fantastic. As I sit here, I am now dreaming about a trip to HI. I better get busy on my non-exciting day since I don't get to go to the beach. A trip to school, cleaning, and Matt is having a friend stay the night. I guess I'd better stock up on some more wine for this sleep over - for me, not for them. The highlight of my day will be my Starbucks run for the Vivanno. Have you tried those?? Yum...and it is fairly healthy, too! Happy beach day! -Jen
11th June 2009

Firemen..
One more thing...I just re-read and saw that the local firemen operate the yoga studio???? Very nice. This is a little stereo-typical, but I have never really seen an unattractive fireman. Make friends with them...you know good friends...
11th June 2009

Phew!
I feel so much better after reading this one! You sound really really good and you're getting me in the spirit for my trip (gotta find myself some good cheap fun!) I hope you write one everyday! I love the stories about meeting people...that sushi place sounds tight!
11th June 2009

I'm so proud of you Jen!!! Really, i wish that i had done what you are doing when i was younger. Actually, i wish i had the guts to do something like that NOW!!!! This blog sounds so much better than your last.....you just needed to settle in a bit....you are on your way to your best summer ever!!
11th June 2009

waikiki
The sunset over Waikiki Beach is phenomenal... and lighting for pictures at that time is at its peak! make sure to take some and post them for us!
12th June 2009

Thinking of you over coffee
Good morning! I just topped off my coffee, put down my book, New Moon, to check my mail and say hello. Curious to know how your day went yesterday. Mine was filled with the sound of the Wii; Brady's favorite game is Speed Racer and I'm telling you, he can play that thing for hours. It's a great distraction when its pouring outside, but I have to pry his little fingers off the remote to get him into the fresh air when it stops. Maybe a bit of an exaggeration for today he went willingly when I suggested throwing a ball around. Lately, we've been playing catch in the cul-de-sac or raquetball off the garage door while Naava takes her nap. He has quite an arm and is accuracy is amazing! So now I'm off to the gym and then hope to catch up on my paperwork and maybe even make some sense out of my office. Sadly, it has slipped back into the condition you are used to seeing it. Makes me crazy! I just know I'd be a lot more comfy in an organized space. I'll check in later to see if you've written more. If not, I'll give you a call. Love, Love, Love, MOM : - )
16th June 2009

Interesting
First, you have a new blog fan in me - I really enjoy reading about your "adventures" in Hawaii. :) I just happened to stumble on your blog when I was looking for more info on Diamond Head Yoga. Do you happen to remember the names of the firefighters you met at the studio? Just curious - I might know them. It's a small world...
17th June 2009

Thanks
Kind of strange...I thought my friends and family were the only ones that read this :-) but no I don't remember their names, sorry. They were really friendly. Do you do yoga there? It's a great place. I'm really impressed.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb