Highway to Heaven, er, Hana


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Maui
January 10th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today Carlo and I road across the island of Maui. What an adventure!!! With our offroading Jeep we witnessed first hand the best Hawaii has to offer. The day started off rainy and ended in rainbows. We welcomed the rain because it made the waterfalls we saw even more dramatic. The north side of the mountain is very green and plush with amazing trees, waterfalls, and ocean views. The south side of the mountain is dry and sunny. It reminds me of the hills of Italy. But with banana bread venders, instead of lemoncello vendors. The drive was exhilerating. Most of the drive consisted of narrow, one lane streets. Nothing seperated our jeep from the ocean except a steep cliff and a little praying. Most often repeated statement of the day: "Carlo slow down, we're going to crash!!!!!" Second most repeated statement: "Carlo look over there- but don't take your eyes of the road!" We both survived, and only have slight twitches and a lot of pictures to show for our day.
On another note- I believe in Beshert (I'm spelling this wrong- Erin, correct me). In hebrew, it means "things are meant to be." Today I got a reminder of
We started off with rainWe started off with rainWe started off with rain

The rain made the view more dramatic
Beshert. I met one of the other guests of the bed and breakfast where I am staying. She told me she did her graduate work in Chicago. I asked her what she studied. You won't believe it when I tell you!!! She studied PROSTHETIC LIMBS!!!!!! AHHHH!!!!!!!! I think that makes us the only two people in the world who have studied that. So I told her that I am in Hawaii for a conference where I will be presenting research on prosthetic limb design. She knew all about my work!! I couldn't believe it! Talking to her got me excited for the conference on Wednesday.
I love to travel. You never know who you will meet and what adventures await you.
Today was filled with excitement. Tomorrow I will relax on the beach. I could get used to this. I could get used to the Aloha spirit which is about simplicity and peacefulness. I could get used to the quiet nights here. I enjoy looking up at the sky at night and seeing all of the stars. Can you see the stars from where you are tonight? I hope so. Aloha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

"How much do you love me, Carlo?""How much do you love me, Carlo?"
"How much do you love me, Carlo?"

"This big", he replied.
Cows: "Moo"Cows: "Moo"
Cows: "Moo"

Maui is home to a lot of animals. These are only some of the creatures we met on our trip.
Our day ended with rainbowsOur day ended with rainbows
Our day ended with rainbows

This one followed us for miles


2nd March 2006

Countdown to getting soaked
That picture is right out of a professional portfolio. It is so unique and beautiful and rare. You should definitely enlarge that. The water looks so neat and you look so small compared to the rocks and vast ocean.
2nd March 2006

Bashert
It is Bashert, both in spelling and meaning. :)

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb