Christmas in Hawaii!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Maui » Lahaina
December 24th 2010
Published: December 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well it seems that some people are reading my blogs so here's an update. Loads of rain in LA which followed me to Honolulu! Spent 2 days on the fabulous Waikiki beach then flew to Maui. Taxi took me to hostel where I was booked for 7 nights. Could have cried when I saw it - it was unspeakably bad and in a very grotty area. The driver took pity on me and after many phone calls - because it is holiday season - he found me a place in Lahaina on other side of island. I was still worried but taxi driver had done a good job (he was a very good friend by this time). I was so relieved when we arrived! The resort, hotel and room are delightful and the sun came out as I opened the shutter door to my balcony overlooking the largest banyan tree ever and which took over the whole pretty village square. The sun hasn't stopped shining since. I was so happy as I was unpacking I was singing (good job Zoe wasn't there!!). Then the taxi driver rang and offered to bring me a bottle of wine round! There's even a Starbucks - my lifesaver with its coffee and wi-fi. Met up there with a local painter who has given me some useful info. Doing a tour of island tomorrow -looking forward to that, and have booked a car for Christmas Day to do my own tour. Plan to go whale watching. Off to Big Island for the New Year. Don't want to rub it in but I drafted this on the beach today eating cheese and delicious fruits whilst watching the hunky surfers, reading my book and listening to my i-pod. Gosh it's busy, don't know how much more of this pressure I can take!! Miss home though. I hope you all have a great Christmas (and a Happy New Year if I don't get another blog in this year - you can see how busy I am!). Love xxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



24th December 2010

life is good!
30th December 2010

Happy Christmas Wend!
Wendy, sounds fantastic, well done you for getting this far! You have probably heard about our weather, so the very opposite of you. We had a nice Christmas with family Jess and Jamie got too much next year I would like to get away. Jamie is currently doing lego and we have just returned from our own mini tour, Blackpool, Manchester all the top spots tomorrow off to Yorkshire to see in the New Year with some friends, will think of you at midnight with your arms around a surfer or maybe that taxi driver!!! Will follow your travels now I know how. Lots of love Tracey, Rob Jessie and Jamie xx
31st December 2010

It sounds wonderful, you sound more like a backpacking teenage student than a great-grandmother pensioner! xxxx I'm glad you're having a good time. I hope I will get a link to your future blogs, now that Judy has sent me something Happy New Year! xxx
1st January 2011

Happy New Year and Hello from London
Hi Love! Well I am here with Shell and we have just read your last blog. we are really pleased to hear that you are making friends. What happened with the wine and taxi driver? did he serenade you? We have survived not only the coldest winter on record but a big family christmas. Would much rather swap places with you right now> Have a wonderful New Year!!!! Love you lots Al and Shel. xx
21st February 2011

yippeee i finally saw the blog with me in it !!!!!! :) xxx

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb