Day to explore


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Kaua'i
May 20th 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I decided to go find another beach to try snorkelling at today. I had read alot about Tunnels Beach. After I found it, I realized that it was packed with others. I went on up to the end of the road. There are a couple of caves up there. One was dry the other had water in it. I finally found a county park that had some spaces to park. I walked a pretty good ways up to Tunnels. It was impressive. The offshore reef protects the little bay which makes for a protected area to swim. About 50-60 feet offshore the bottom just starts to drop away. It is really something to see. On the way back in I stopped in Hanalei and walked around some. It is a nice little town. It sits right in the middle of 6 or so one way bridges. You have to pracitce Aloha on those bridges. You have to let share the bridge with on coming traffic.
I went back down to watch the sun set over the Pacific. It was very neat to see. The clouds were also coming in over the mountains on the Na Pali coast. I saw some amazing sights and got some great pics today. I may try to find some of the waterfalls tomorrow. It will be my last full day on the island of Kaua'i.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb