Kauai October 2012 Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Kaua'i » Lihu'e
October 25th 2012
Published: October 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After a leisurely breakfast of bacon and eggs, we walked through the resort, enjoying the gorgeous scenery of palm trees, bogainvillia (yes, I had to look that up), hibiscus, orchids and bromeliads. I highly recommend the Aston Poipu Kea condos. Our unit is huge, the property is gorgeous and it's a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Poipu Beach is rockin awesome. I know, you're thinking I'd like ANY beach and you're right, but still - this one is incredible. I wore my swimsuit under my clothes just in case I'd have the chance to jump in and, duh, I jumped in. I brought a waterproof bag for the camera and took some photos while I chased the fish.

OK. The fish. It's like swimming in the Madonna aquarium times a million. I've never seen so many crazy fish. It's like someone let the kindergarteners loose with jumbo packs of dayglo crayons. I held my breath as long as I could so I wouldn't miss one. This was HEAVEN UNDER WATER. I really really really hope I can be a mermaid in heaven. I can't think of anything more cool. In fact, I'll start trying to be better right now!



We eventually had to return to gravity and explored a little to our west. We stopped into some of the expensive tourist shops, checking out beautiful art pieces in the very extra thousands of dollars and a black pearl necklace that Paul would buy me if he really loved me, then stopped into Savage Shrimp for lunch because I've never had shrimp that was even a little pissed off. The Aloha shrimp plate was truly savage: coconut milk, lemon grass, ginger and some chili. Mmmm, mmmm, mmmmmm.

Then we meandered over to Old Koloa Town. I could live here. No really. Those of you who say, "Oh you'd get all landlocked. You'd miss the seasons. You'd get tired of the food. You'd want steak and potatoes." These are the silly things people say because they are jealous. I would not get tired of living here for a very long, long time. This place needs a rehab hospital. And I'd be glad to promote it. Madonna Kauai. I like it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb