Kekaha Kai State Park/Beach 69/Kiholo Bay


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Kailua-Kona
March 27th 2009
Published: April 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The next day I decided to rent a Moped to attempt to make it to the hard to spot Black Sand beaches of Kiholo Bay. Being that I had never driven a moped before I was a bit skeptical about being able to successfully operate it on the Highway, but I figured my training of riding 4 wheelers might help a little. I started out with baby steps, riding around in the parking lots, around Kona and then finally braved the highway (with no helmet I might add). Hawaii doesn't require them so the rental place doesn't provide them either.

Before reaching Kiholo I stopped at Kekaha Kai State Park and Beach 69 finally spotting a sea turtle or two. Once back on the road the only indication that I was close to Kiholo Bay was a lonely planet guide and a little pole in between mile marker 82 and 83. I'm not sure Mopeds were meant for these type of dirt roads but I made it anyway. This seemed like a cool local spot, there were tons of people camping all along the black sand beaches, I went for a little hike but was on a time constraint to get the moped back by 6.

Mission accomplished, I successfully rode a moped on the highway and back without serious injury other than me trying to look cool and wrecking. (::::😞)::::😊 Ouch.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

MopedMoped
Moped

me crashing trying to look cool


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb