Scuba Diving & Manta Ray Night Snorkel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Kailua-Kona
March 26th 2009
Published: April 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The next day I had a 6 am wake up and headed on foot from the hostel to Jacks Diving Locker for my first day of scuba diving. Scuba in California was freezing so I decided to give it another shot in Hawaii. Even before we left the marina I saw a guy pulling out a huge swordfish from his boat to load into the back of his truck, it was crazy. On the way to the dive sites (High Rock and Freeze Face) we saw a bunch of dolphins playing in the water too. There were various skills I had to complete on Dive 1 and 2 for my open water cert. All went well except I ended up with mild barotrauma and had to miss out on day two. But that didn't stop me from participating in the Manta Ray Night Dive/Snorkel. The water was very choppy for the night snorkel, and I ended up getting pretty sea sick, it was all worth it though for the sightings of the huge Manta Rays feeding on plankton. It was like you were staring down into a whole other world. The Scuba divers lights were shining straight up as the plankton circled around, and after a bit of waiting sure enough huge manta rays were soon to follow.

Fish sightings while scuba and snorkeling:





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me on the boatMe on the boat
Me on the boat

not sea sick I might add


Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb