Volcano Show in Slow Motion


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Hilo
October 31st 2014
Published: October 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

I PREFER MY VOLCANOS IN SLOW MOTION




Aloha my fellow adventurer!

Let me first say that I prefer my volcanos to erupt slowly. Slow is good when you consider that the lava ejected is in the neighborhood of thousands of degrees. My running speed isn't what it used to be. Plus, I'm usually stuck carrying the backpack, ice chest, camera, ukelele and sometimes even my gal's purse. (Not to say I wouldn't fling it all at the approaching lava as a sacrifice to Pele should the need arise.)

So, recently, as of October 31, 2014, the town of Pahoa is in the path of a lava flow which is moving about 70 yards every 24 hours. Here's a link to the National Park Services Website with all the info

There are lots of options for seeing the volcano. You can take a tour by bus or by helicopter . Be sure to pack a light jacket because even if volcanos are very hot, it can get pretty chilly at the park.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb