Getting Started


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Warm Springs
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is the first post. I just found this website and thought it would be pretty cool since I'm planning on doing a lot of travelling. So far I have booked a trip to Egypt, where I will visit Cairo, Luxor, Aswan, and Dahab for 14 days from July 27th to August 9th. I hope to arrive in Egypt earlier than July27th so I can check out the western desert and Alexandria, and if I get really lucky a neighboring country as well. Hostels in Egypt are dirt cheap, which is exciting and bothersome at the same time. Oh well, we'll see.

In addition to my Egypt trip, I am also planning to go to the Bonnaroo music/arts festival from June 12-15th. Unfortunately, I waited to buy the tickets and now they're $277, not including gas to drive to Manchester, TN and food and drinks. So again, we'll see.

There is also a music festival in London (Southbank) that I'm trying to push to go to as well. And the great thing is that it's the day after Bonnaroo! A band (or group) that I enjoy greatly, Massive Attack, is hosting a music festival: Meltdown. Dates are June 16-June 22nd. Ticket prices aren't up yet, but I'm betting on them being a couple of hundred dollars, especially since it's in London. My God that place is expensive!

So, I figured I'd save some cash, go to Bonnaroo, hop on a plane, go to Meltdown, and from there hike around the UK til the first week in July, then head over to Cairo. Hopefully it goes that way and we'll see as the journal entries progress how on track I am with my goal. I thibk my motto for the year is going to be "We'll see."

Oh, there are two things I forgot to mention. First, I'm in the process of applying to the Peace Corps, which I hope will take me to South America this fall (actually, as soon as I get back from Egypt). If that works out then I'll be in South America for 2-3years. Second, a friend at work has been telling me about a lifeguarding position that pays $8,000/month! No shit! But it's in Iraq. So I'm weighing my options. And for the final time, we'll see.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb