Savannah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
June 8th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Savannah
The drive from West Palm Beach to Savannah was only about 6hours and it seemed to just fly by. We pulled over at a beautiful rest stop for a picnic under the tall shady trees. This picnic was long overdue, and we have been schlepping the 3 cooler bags all the way from Somerset West, so it was time to let them live a little! At the Georgia Welcome Centre I saw a Laurel Oak Tree and I could not resist hugging it! Three and a half years later I still have brief moments where I see something in a shop and think “oh I’ll get that for mum”, but then suddenly as if being hit by a 10 ton truck I realise that she is not around anymore and I have to move on and try not to dwell on the matter….

We were welcomed by Weeping Willows and big Southern style Stately homes as we entered Savannah, and also the HEAT!! Boy oh boy it was hot! Very stuffy and humid, the air is so thick and seems to slow down the pace of everything in town. It was lovely walking around in the town and every couple of blocks there is a green park or square with huge trees that seem to branch over the horizon, a fountain or monument in the centre and beautiful flowerbeds, trees and sometimes a musician in the sunset softly filling the air with the sounds of a flute or saxophone…so pretty!
In the evening we went for a walk along the waterfront and explored all the little shops. We especially liked the sweetie shop where we were given free taffy and fudge tasters!! Yummy!



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

From my Kitchen to yoursFrom my Kitchen to yours
From my Kitchen to yours

Paula Deen's Home town


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb