Catching up


Advertisement
Published: February 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

eaten by Moby Dickeaten by Moby Dickeaten by Moby Dick

My excuse for not going up the lighthouse!
Feb. 01, 2012

Hi everyone:

I have been very bad and haven't been on here for quite some time. We've been having a fabulous time and the weather has been beautiful, so we don't stay home much!

Margaret and Ian went on a tour of the lighthouse that's just a short walk from here. I'll post some pics of that. I didn't go, as I was too busy being eaten by a whale! there's pics of that too!

Margaret left for home on Sunday, and it seems very quiet around here now without the two sisters chatting constantly. I think Ian misses her as much as I do! She flew out of Jacksonville airport which is a really nice place, and not too big. On the way back here, Ian and I went to Amelia Island which is close to the border of Florida and Georgia. Pretty, but not as nice as where we're staying. We really lucked out with the choice. I'll add a couple of pics of houses in the historical district of Amelia Island.

On Saturday we plan to go to Wormsloe, There is an old plantation there that has been turned into
M and I at the topM and I at the topM and I at the top

It was very breezy!
a National Park. This weekend there is a Colonial Fair and Muster. We will experience life in Colonial Georgia during the 18th century with a military encampment, sutlers' row, craft demonstrations, military demonstrations, and period music and dance. Sounds cool!

I've added in a couple of beach walking pics for good measure.

Bye for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

View from the topView from the top
View from the top

This is a view of the park next door and the ocean beyond
M and MM and M
M and M

A walk on East Beach. The tide goes out forever!
Car CarrierCar Carrier
Car Carrier

These huge freighters go by so close to our cabin that you have to wonder how they don't run aground
 M&M on our deck M&M on our deck
M&M on our deck

On our last evening before Margaret leaves for home.
saying goodbyesaying goodbye
saying goodbye

I'm lousy at this part!
Jacksonville AirportJacksonville Airport
Jacksonville Airport

Very cool suspended ceiling.
ChurchChurch
Church

Church on Amelia Island.
tacky tourist shoptacky tourist shop
tacky tourist shop

They don't get much worse than this!


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb