Travels with Snowbirds, Quest for the Stamp, April 15, 2017, Wilmington NC to Madison GA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Madison
April 15th 2017
Published: April 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Quest for the stamp


Travels with Snowbirds, Quest for the Stamp, April 15, 2017, Wilmington NC to Madison GA

How's this for a grabber opener. I am in the Deep South, I'm a campground, and hear rifle fire.

Welcome readers! I am so excited. This is the trip I have been planning for about a year and it’s finally here.

My camping girlies, Kathy, Ginnie, and Kim, planned this long road trip around visiting National Parks in the middle of the country, and getting our National Park Passports stamped as many places as we could. We threw out names of places we wanted to visit and plotted a course. The official trip starts 4/20 in Natchez, MS. I left home today as there are places along my route that I want to see.

Kathy had to beg off the trip recently due to family issues, and she will be missed terribly. Know that you are in our hearts and minds, dearest Kathy. Hopefully you can figure out some way to join us when we get to Pennsylvania.

When I got home from my winter Snowbird trip to FL, I left Moya packed with summer clothes, so I anticipated an easy load in. I conscripted Grandson Ben, for pay, of course, to help me carry the heavy baskets out, and he was a big help. Lots of food, more clothes, maps, tour books, stick vacuum, on and on.

I have been on the road now 10 hours and still can't think of anything that I forgot. I had notes everywhere, except turning off the hot water heater. Neighbor Marian to the rescue.

I researched places about 300 miles out that I could park overnight easily, and found a Cabelas in Augusta, GA that looked perfect. Costco right next door, good for topping off the gas tank, and lots of restaurants close by. At my first rest area stop, my water pump was not working, it sounded awful and water just dribbled out. I went outside and kicked the tire, opened up the compartment it's stored on, and I could see water was not flowing from the fresh water tank to the pump, (clear plastic fittings.) Frak.

I know the hot water tank was empty, part of my winterization effort, and I could tell water was not flowing into it. I switched all the directional valves, and all of a sudden water started to move. That was the point I decided to seek out a campground, as I really can't live without water.

I used my handy dandy AllStays camping app and found a cg in Madison, GA, about 100 miles further than I had wanted to drive, but much closer to tomorrow's destination. So, instead of free overnight, I paid $35 for a gorgeous site, free wifi and cable, water, sewer, electric, out in the open, but no neighbors. I hooked Winston up to his long lead and attacked the water pump.

First I attached my hose and put more water in the fresh water holding tank, and tried all the faucets, which worked with no leaks. Then I turned the hot water heater on, and got the expected results. Then I turned off the water at the hose and turned on the water pump. I heard a big burp from the system, and had water at the sink and in the toilet. In my technical terms, I think the system lost it’s pressure, it lost it’s prime. I will try it again later tonight when I take a shower, and am keeping my fingers crossed.

It's hot, but not unbearable. My awning is out, and it does a good job of keeping the sun off the door side. No need to turn on the a/c as there is a lovely breeze. Cheese, crackers, Diet Pepsi, and all is good in the world. Until the rifle shots. There has to be a shooting range nearby. Maybe it's not rifles, maybe it's hand guns, what do I know. It's not backfiring, that I know.

Time to go put my feet up and relax. More tomorrow.

Kat out

Advertisement



16th April 2017

Hi
Happy you are on your trip. I give you a lot of credit. I still have a lot to learn on being on my own. Love you Kat

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb