Heavy Heart


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Clayton
August 22nd 2013
Published: August 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well, as we arrived at camp last night, it began to rain! It only lasted a few minutes, so Pops and Lola went out and attempted to build a fire. Everything is so wet, including our stack of wood. He used gasoline to start it. While he was working on it, Bella wanted me to come inside and show me all of her clothes she 'inherited' from her older cousin. It was fun going through everything...she is growing up! Lola received some new school clothes from Jason and Amy and was excited to try them on for me. She wants to wear one of the outfits tomorrow! Pops gave up on the fire!!

Every once in a while Lola would say, 'I miss daddy' and then I wish I could stay with you and Pops for a long time. I don't want to go home tomorrow. sigh! She did Facetime with Jason and Amy. Bella did Facetime with her daddy.

We decided to make the s'mores in the microwave--not nearly as good! As we were eating our s'mores, we looked outside and the fire had taken off. But it was too late, everyone was getting tired so Pops put it out. Pops made one of his unique snacks that he loves and now the girls love it too. Take a slice of Swiss cheese, spread a little peanut butter on it and roll it. Bella had 2 with a glass of milk. Lola had one. Lola showed me how to make 'animal' shadows. We went up in the bedroom, she set up a flashlight on some books, turned out the light and she made a dog, rabbit, bird, spider. I made a few attempts but hers were much better.

It's time to go to bed; almost hate to since tomorrow morning will be a rush to get them ready and leave. Lola wanted her 'daddy's' quilt-one that belonged to his grandmother, Ken's mom.

Everyone slept good (just not long enough). The girls are used to Pacific Daylight time. Ken wakes Lola up by bringing her in to bed with me. Bella comes too, but with her Ipad. As Pops makes coffee, we chat. We started talking about Chuck and Summer (our two old cats, now deceased, but the girls remember them). Lola wants to know every story about them (which she has heard lots and lots of times). It's the familiarity that brings comfort..and she is stalling. Bella gets a shower while Pops makes Lola whole wheat toast with some of that yummy strawberry jam from the produce market. We chat for awhile and now it is Lola's turn for a shower.

I helped dry Bella and Lola's hair, help them gather everything and time to say goodbye. Lola's eyes get watery and she said she misses her dad and doesn't want to leave. I tell her she can call him on the way to her mom's. I give both of them hugs and kisses and Pops loads up the truck and they leave. Lola wants me to go with them, but I say no, I have to work. It's a sunny day! That will help with the mood. They start school on Monday...summer is over.

"I'd give all the wealth that years have piled,
the slow result of life's decay,
To be once more a little child
for one bright summer day.” -Lewis Carroll




<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">







Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb