So long, Athenians!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Athens
September 21st 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday I finally got to eat at the legendary Weaver D’s. Weaver himself seemed to be in a grumpy mood, but the enormous serving of fried chicken was delicious. Neither Dave nor I could finish our lunch, but loved it.

Sunday morning Dave was up ridiculously early to fly in the little plane from Athens to Atlanta to eventually end up back in LA. Pouring with rain at this stage, but apparently the flight went ok. I was surprised by more generosity from the choir at rehearsal, when Lyn presented me with a Braves cap and a Bulldawg shirt (and a practical gift for my trip - which may well come in handy if I get affected by any stomach bugs in India…). I will make sure I get a photo of me in the Georgia shirt in an unlikely part of Tehran. Thank y’all!

Most of Sunday afternoon and Monday were spent packing and finishing off music and last minute arrangements (musical and for the trip). Dithering over the best way to get to Atlanta for my flight to the UK, as north Georgia was experiencing the heaviest rainfall since Noah realised with mild annoyance that he had left his umbrella on the bus. Roads were either closed from flooding or blocked with traffic. In the end we left early and arrived in plenty of time, after Stephen chose a good route to drive. 18 inches of rain in 12 hours. The rain stopped long enough for the plane to take off and get above the clouds without any bother.

I loved my time in Athens, GA. It was brilliant catching up with Stephen (and Dave). I met so many interesting and friendly people who have become good friends. I was inspired to compose much music which was received well by those who sang and listened. I was able to relax in the hot sun - when it wasn’t raining - and really chill out. And by getting to know a part of the world new to me I have been able to revise my previously ambivalent view of the US. I can’t wait to go back there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb