Training Update 4/24/09


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » St Augustine
April 24th 2009
Published: April 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been a bit...

Since the last time you heard from me. We have gone back and forth trying to decide; do we do it or do we cancel???

We went on our first 4 mile training walk on 4/14 around our community. It was a casual stroll with good conversation with my son. I knew he liked his Forensics class but I learned he really really likes his Forensics class during this walk. Walk took us 1 1/2 hours...

In addition to the walks I've been going to the gym every day and putting in 2-3 miles each day on a treadmill at full incline.

On Thursday 4/16 the walk around the community wasn't as well received by Juan as our 1st one 4/14... He's gonna get bored and doesn't believe a simple waslk is going to be of any value to our hike in the mountains. I firmly believe some degree of activity is going to be better than just doing what we do now (hang out and watch TV).

I also decide to stop smoking and drinking (ok maybe try to stop). Since you guys know me there is no need to explain that I consider myself a social smoker (drinking and smoking go hand in hand). I'm glad to say I haven't had a cigarette in over two weeks. On Thursday when I went to my club house to play trivia with friends our bartender brought me a drink without asking (she knows me - Vodka & RedBull). I had that one but then drank water to avoid wanting a smoke...

Sat 4/18 we went camping with the boyscouts and ended up taking (dragging) all 14 boys on a 6 mile hike with me. If I'm gonna hike they are too :-)

Now, here's the fun part. 4/22 after work we did 1 hour at full incline and then 20 stories of stairs up and down. That was fantastic!

I'm still in training but to answer the question I first posed we are scaling it down to a 2 day hike and taking the loss now rather than being miserable later.

I looked at this trip and figured that the FatherSonJourney was about the journey and not worth any one experience putting that in jeopardy. I know my son and I know myself. I will push him and get frustrated and that's not what I want for us.

Ok, until next time! Vegas, here I come (no training this weekend!!!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb