Exploring Myakka


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Sarasota
March 22nd 2018
Published: March 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-22-18 Exploring Myakka

Watson and I have been prowling the park for birds and animals to photograph. We found a hot spot by the dam for some water birds and alligators and the fun part is to walk along the lake or walk through an oak tree, palm tree hammock to get there. There are some wild flowers attracting butterflies and song birds hopping around overhead.

There was a snowy egret standing in the stream catching small fish and he was so happy to be there he didn't mind having his spirit stolen by my camera a hundred times. Picture. Watson was an angel and just stood by me watching people go by or smelling the weeds. I couldn't let him go more than 6 feet from me or he could be alligator bait.

The opposite shore was the hangout for the gators. The black vultures were hanging out there too making the scene rather sinester looking.

Later in the day I went to Siesta Key and met Nell for dinner at a seafood hot spot. The dinner and company were both great then Nell took me to the public beach to show me the world's best beach. It truly is. The beach is huge, with the softest, whitest sand I have ever seen. Wow.

The weather is cooler today after a storm front went through last night, a welcome relief for me. It was a high of 65 today with brilliant sunshine and tonight it's supposed to be in the low 40s. Really cold for here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb