BHB West. Banded jaw fish with red eggs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
January 1st 2013
Published: January 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I went to get a different shot of the red eggs. While looking for the banded jaw fish I saw a huge banded in a hole and six different pairs of dusky jawfish. I am not sure if they had eggs because one of each pair wouldn’t come out. That area is hot for jawfish at the moment. I also saw a few bumblebee shrimp and a tiny juvenile black scorpion fish. Diane marked 2 baby octos covered by shells in holes. People unknowing remove the bottles which are homes to many critters.. I also saw 2 tiny dragonet’s very playful and travelling around, lots of different size batfish, flying gurnards and a couple of flabellinas.

My blue eye banded jawfish was very skittish and I had doubts it was the one that spit for me several times before. It would go in the hole for long periods of time to come out for less than a minute. It was driving me crazy and I was about to give up when it spit the eggs out but I was to close and I missed the shot. I have to see if it has the same blue eyes of the one I shot before. If it is the same one probably someone scared it or hurt it. It is also weird that it had red eggs so soon. The eggs should be developed by now so it is either another jawfish or it lost its eggs and these are new. Over all it was funny to watch it spit rocks and sand with the eggs still in its mouth. Silly jawfish!

At the end of the dive Deb saw a larvae eel swimming but she was out of battery and waited for one of us to show but none of us were around. I am trying to post a video of something similar filmed in Indonesia as a reminder of what to look for.

15 ft 187min Air S100cc 12lbs (minus 2) + double ank 7mm Pinnacle. I shaved 2 lbs and felt fine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb