Business in Mobile. Day 13. Deep South Road Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Pensacola
June 30th 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day of Discovery.

Sunday, June 13. Steve invites me to attend his church which is held in a movie theater. Twenty minutes of sing-a-long rock is followed by a text-a-question-to-the-pastor instead of a sermon. Very interesting.
After lunch at Steve's, I zip down to Historical Pensacola. I wander through its Historic Village, and although the museums are closed, I find an art-consignment store that used to be an old firehouse. The building next door, which is currently the Pensacola Art Museum, was originally the town jail, and the Cultural Center across the street was the court house. One of the saleswomen points out they used to walk the prisoners from the jail across the street to the courthouse and then to the gallows which was erected near the courthouse. Old-time justice. Never would have known if I hadn’t wandered into the consignment shop. It also allows me to cool off a bit before I hit the streets again. After exploring downtown, I drive around the town looking at the beautiful old homes, many of them labeled historical. Lovely afternoon. Tonight the house is filled with teens, my host’s daughter and many of her friends. Kind of interesting listening in on their conversations while I am in the pool and they are in the spa or at the tables. That swim before bedtime leeches the last of the heat from my skin. I say goodnight to my host and head upstairs. Kids voices waft up from downstairs for awhile, but I am out in no time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mural on Old FirehouseMural on Old Firehouse
Mural on Old Firehouse

which is now an art consignment shop


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb