Heading to Blue Springs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orange City
February 19th 2018
Published: February 21st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Blog 02-19-18 Heading to Blue Spring

I was in no hurry to head out, check-out time is 1 pm and I only had 45 miles to drive to the next campground. I spent some time on the phone catching up then Watson and I had a nice walk in the campground and a leisure time putting things away inside the camper.

It didn't take long to put the outside stuff away and by 12:15 I was hooked up and on the way out of the campground. One small problem, there was a line for the dump station that blocked the exit road. I had planned to visit the dump before leaving but I didn't want to wait in that line so when I got to the new campground was time enough.

On my way out of Ormond Beach I stopped at a Publix grocery and got a few items, mostly water. Florida water is terrible and even fliltered it's awful.

By 1:45 I was in line for Blue Springs along with half the state of Florida. It is President's Day but does everybody have to hit the spring? It only took 10 min to get in and the dump station was on the way to my new campsite. It is shaped like an L so I had to think about how best to position the camper for privacy and level. The leveling was the tricky part and there were a few trees to avoid hitting the top of the camper. I ended up a little far away from the electric and water source but I only needed my extra hose and home was all set.

The yard ended up being a little small but I positioned Watson's fence so it was long and narrow making games of fetch more interesting. We got in the car and headed for the spring to see if any manatees were there. During the cold weather in winter they come to the spring for it's 73 degree water. The cold is dangerous for them and especially the young ones. But eventually they have to go back out into the river to eat then back to the spring for warmth. As it turned out there were no manatees in the spring and haven't been for about 4 days. I've missed them. I'm glad that the river water has warmed up so they can go on with their normal ways.

We walked down to the river and out on a float to get a better view of the water. Watson walked down the ramp doing the low crawl and walked with me to the edge but that was it, he had it. I held him for a minute but only leaving was going to make hime happy. Back at the car we went back to camp and settled in for the night. It was a busy day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb