Quiet Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Okeechobee
February 17th 2015
Published: February 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Quiet Day



This morning dawned with a beautiful pale pink line on the horizon where the sun was going to rise, then the clouds rolled in. It was a cloudy start but then the sun came out and the heat rose, and so did the wind. In the campground there are lots of trees and the wind was not a factor. When on the praire the wind about blew you over. Oscar and I went for a nice walk and met the neighbor down the road who is from Canada. He travels with a dog and a very fat cat that has to be tied because of the rules here. He was working on a step for the camper door and like everything when you're retired, it was a project.







When we came back home I sat out to read my book for a while when some other campers came to visit. So the morning was spent being social.







The afternoon rolled around and I thought I better get some pictures of the Crested Caracar that I heard was down the road guarding a nesting site. I was lucky and yes it was there so dispite the wind I did get a couple of decent shots of it. The wind was brutal, the air dry and I felt like all the moisture in my body was gone. Along the way I saw 2 deer not far from the road so I got a few pictures of them. I decided to stop at the watering hole to see what was going on there and on the way there was a black racer crossing the road, a snake. He was really beautiful, very smooth and shiny.







I couldn't find any allegators but there were some water birds and a kingfisher with a small catfish. There was a snowy egret with mating plumage, very beautiful and in the picture note the green legs and yellow feet.







Back at the ranch I fed Oscar, took him for another walk, visited around the park again and went back to reading my book.







It was a very relaxing day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb