Cruising the Caribbean-1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Lauderdale
February 13th 2022
Published: February 13th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I am so out of it.



Packing, that used to be routine now isn’t. Nearly forgot my make up and bathing suit bottoms. Forgot to take my IPad and phone from my carryon going through security and found out there is no First Class lounge at LGA. Drat. So here I sit at the gate for the next two hours.

Still it’s a beautiful day, my driver was very nice and we made good time (too good) and I am getting used to wearing a mask. The airport is empty. Wondering if the plane will be but not hopeful since there are lots of people at the gate with me.

I thought I’d kill some time at the bar but a cosmo was $30. Bagged that idea. People seem to be behaving well so far, wearing masks and distancing as much as they can.



I am boarded first and the flight is full limiting carryon space. My seat mate brought a meal on board and proceeded to eat and drink, of course, sans mask. Looks like we’ll have a late departure but hopefully not by much.



I opted for First Class as I had more than enough miles. Thank goodness I didn’t pay cash. My “meal” was a meat and cheese plate......served in a cardboard box the WOODEN UTENSILS. The fork couldn’t pick up the food and the knife couldn’t cut butter. There was cheese balls of uncertain origins and a sliced mystery meat that may have been salami. I was’t starving so I was amused rather than disappointed but such is travel today.....even in First.







Arrived at Largo Mar in 45 minutes from baggage claim which was 5 minutes from the plane. My room - Suite has views of the ocean and the canal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb