Alexander Springs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Flagler Beach
February 25th 2011
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When you travel by yourself you get to make your own decisions, but when you travel with someone else you have to negotiate outcomes... both are important things to experience and to learn how to do (with grace!). My latest dilemma, aside from deciding which camp site to choose, was whether to stay in Titusville to see the space shuttle take off, or to keep going another 60+ miles to Alexander Springs, a campground recommended in my travel guide.

It was a tough decision… if I had stayed to watch the launch it would have been a big party. I saw the campers staking out their territories as I came across the bridge toward Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge, which was recommended to me when Gail and I were in Cedar Key. The timing wasn’t quite right; it was still more than 24 hours from launch time, so I ended up moving on through in search of a more peaceful location.

Perfect! Alexander Springs, located in Ocala National Forest, is inland from Daytona Beach on the Atlantic coast just south of St Augustine (and Jacksonville). I am so glad I chose this spot. It makes me feel like I am part of some great continuum; people have been coming here for a very long time. Native Americans made it home for who knows how many years.

An upwelling of clear blue fresh water rises from the earth to form its own waterway. Its temperature is a constant 72 degrees. This afternoon I went swimming to explore it, but was sad to only have some cheap goggles from the lost and found to aid my vision. Still, it was wonderful. It makes me want to do an exclusive springs-of-Florida trip sometime, there are several in this area. Note to self: Remember your mask & flippers the next time you come to Florida.

Meeting my friend Deb in Flagler Beach today.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb