Kennedy Space Center and the space shuttle Atlantis


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The Atlantis is kept at Kennedy Space Center in Florida. When I went there we learned about the history of the space shuttle. We went inside the Mercury pod. We also went inside the Apollo pod. We walked around some Rockets. And we walked across a pathway to the Whiteroom.



Outside of a big building where the Atlantis is held, there was a statue of some solid rocket boosters attached to the gas tank. Then we went into the big building and saw a movie about how hard the engineers worked to design the shuttle. They made it to take off like a rocket and land like a airplane. Then it took off and it was all around me. Then the screen opened and there stood the space shuttle Atlantis.



The Atlantis is a space shuttle. After the screen opened we walked inside. The space shuttle looked like it was flying because we were on the second floor above all the shops. The shuttle was connected to the Canadarm. In space, it helped fix satellites. We saw the Hubble telescope. We went through a space lab tunnel. And we did s-turns. S-turns help the space shuttle slow down when it’s going through the atmosphere.

I also went on a space shuttle ride. It was bumpy and fun inside the shuttle ride My daddy went with me. When we were out of the atmosphere the ride ended. It would be fun to go on a real space shuttle but it’s too dangerous.



We also went on a bus ride. We saw the launch pad where the space shuttle actually took off. We saw the crawler runway and we saw an Apollo rocket. At the end it started to rain. That’s when I learned when you're in Florida, always bring a umbrella.



I like the Kennedy space center. My favorite moment was me and my family in front of the space shuttle. My least favorite moment was the rain. And I would go back because the space shuttle was so beautiful.

By Grace age 7


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb