This is the beginning. The beginning of our Story.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Alachua
September 15th 2012
Published: September 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello, all and welcome. I'm Stacey, and I'm starting this blog to document the travels related to this great idea I had (which is the only kind of ideas I ever have). I'd like to tell you how this idea started, but ideas don't always just randomly start. Sometimes, as in this case, there are precursors to ideas, so I'll start with those instead.

First of all, I am a proud Floridian. People who move here from other states for some reason think there is nothing to do and nothing to see in Florida. This always annoys me, mainly because its not true. Florida is full of diverse ecologies, diverse cultures, and diverse forms of entertainment, and I don't know how anyone could miss that.

Secondly, and most importantly, I am like other Travel Bloggers . . . interested in travel. Never saw that one coming, did you?

Third, I double majored in History and Anthropology at the University of Florida. For those of you who would criticze me because those are SUPPOSEDLY unwise fields to go into because there are SUPPOSEDLY no jobs availbale right now. . . you're right. After six months I finally found a job. As a waitress. Side note: if you've ever in Gainesville, come the Brew Spot Cafe (http://www.thebrewspotcafe.com/TBS/Home.html) and leave me big tips.
But, back to my original point: History and Anthropology. That's what I'm interested in so that's what a lot of my traveling will be related to.

So, here's me with all this background stuff going on, and I'm not in school right now (but currently studying for the GRE and applying to grad schools). However, I want to having somekind of anthropological/historical stuff going on in my life other than reading Facebook posts from ArchaeoSoup Productions. And that's when I decided . . . I shall set out on a quest in which I will visit Florida Heritage Sites. And here is where I will share tales of my journeys.

I will start in Alachua County, Florida, basically just because that's where I live right now. But if I happen to be in another area, I will also visit sites there. I will start by providing background info on the place I'm visiting (if its a pre-planned trip), then share my experiences. I will often have people accomanying me. As of right now I think my usual side kicks will be my friend Brittany, who was also an anthropology major as well as a history minor, and my sister Lizzie, who is an art major.graphis designer/photographer. I predict she will take many puctures. (Oh, and by the way: calling them my "side kicks" isn't because they're unequal to me in anyway. Its just because in my head when I go on adventures, I have side kicks.) Also, Lizzie and Brittany will probably blog about the trip for their points of view as well.

For those readers who think Florida Heritage will not be enough to keep you interested, do not despair. I will also occasionally write about past travels. My readers can wait for me to do this when I feel like it, ask questions about a specific place I've been to, or even . . . request I visit a place to check out/blog about!

I look forward to sharing my experiences and hope that this blog will be a source of enjoyment and education to many, and not just me talking to myself. If you enjoy this, please share with others. Happy travels.



- Stacey Stiles

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb