2011 Mid Life Crisis Tour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
September 4th 2011
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=ZRayIWz582c]
Frost on the windscreenFrost on the windscreenFrost on the windscreen

It's nice to feel cold for a change.
ALMA, Colo. - I was up first, so I made the first pot of coffee.
Breakfast was biscuits and gravy, followed by more coffee and staring at the TV.
Tim fired up the chainsaw and log splitter and turned a pile of logs into an even taller pile of firewood. I recorded his efforts on video.
I discovered the battery in my Swiss Army knife is dead. It operates the temperature/altimeter feature which, while not essential, is nice to have. I decided to combine a run up to the Frisco Radio Shack for a battery with a chance to shoot some motorcycle video. I was also low on gas, so I planned to hit one of the stations on the north end of Breckenridge.
Everything was going well until I got to thinking about my wallet as I approached Breck. Patting my jacket pockets (my Kathmandu pants have no pockets), I didn't find it. I pulled off into a hotel parking lot and checked the tank bag. No wallet.
So it was back onto Colo. 9 and back over Hoosier Pass to Chateau Balough where a search of my guest quarters proved fruitless. It had to be in the tank bag.
Splitting logsSplitting logsSplitting logs

Tim at work.

And that's where I found it.
Doh!
Now I was really low on gas, so I rode east to Fairplay and the Sinclair station where I put 4.077 gallons into the tank.
Then I rode back to Alma and up and over Hoosier Pass to Breckenridge where I followed Main Street north, dodging bicycles and pedestrians and regretting not taking the more roundabout route.
I found the Frisco Radio Shack where I remembered it being, but was chagrined to find they were closed. So I rode over to Subway and had a 6" roast beef sub for late lunch and phoned Maria, who was en route to a Memphis restaurant with our neighbors.
I rode back to Chateau Balough to find Tim gone to a fire at the fire station and Webb chainsawing the last of the pile of logs.
Dinner was spaghetti and meatballs followed by peach pie and ice cream.
We made it an early evening and I was in bed by 10 p.m.
I rode a meager 105 miles yesterday and the net effect of four trips over Hoosier Pass on sticky new tires gave me hope that I've got my Mountain Riding Mojo back. Coming up into the mountains on Friday had me a little twitchy about twisties and altitude after all those miles of straight-ahead down on the flatland.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb