And I thought Kansas was remote! 60 miles to Ordway.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
July 2nd 2018
Published: July 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Sorry but there are no pictures today. I have one bar and they simply will not upload!

Today was another 60 mile ride in the High Plains of Eastern Colorado. It is really deserted out here. Once again I stocked up with food and water because there is nothing!

The ride itself was great early with tailwinds and then a slog later with headwinds!

I’m sure I will miss the flat terrain in a few days when I am climbing the Rockies!

One day at a time!

When I arrived on Ordway, I thought I had sleeping arrangements all set up with a Warm Showers connection.

When I arrived, I discovered it was a trailer without air conditioning and no warm shower!

It is about 99 degrees here and the trailer was at least 110 with no circulation.

So.... I came back into town to find out the only Motel is full of the ACA bicyclists and that option is gone.

So I am sitting here in the City Park trying to figure out how I can put up my tent in 25mph winds??

Yes this really is an adventure!

At least I was able to get a bit of a shower by walking into the local fountain.

So to recap.... 60 miles, no place to stay and another 56 tomorrow to Pueblo.

See you then.

Advertisement



3rd July 2018

Wow
Just joining in, I had no idea you were already in Colorado. Part you are going through sure isn't the Colorado we picture. Stay safe and enjoy Fourth.
4th July 2018

Fires
I’m taking the day off here in Pueblo to assess the fires. I don’t want to spend hours on the road breathing smoke. Bob
4th July 2018

Hang in there
Hang in there Bob. After this anything will easy... Good Luck...
4th July 2018

Hang in there
Hang in there Bob. After this anything will easy... Good Luck...

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb