Rocky Mountain High


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Grand Junction
October 21st 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

lunch view 1lunch view 1lunch view 1

This is one of the images I took at my lunch break in Silverthorne, CO.
Greetings from Grand Junction, Colorado.

It was a most interesting drive of 333 miles today from Limon to Grand Junction. I’m really glad I pressed on the previous days as I was able to drive beyond where any snow may be falling tonight.

I topped of the fuel tank on the east side of Denver, made a stop at Camping World, and headed for the Rockies. DB did great in the mountains.

I missed two good opportunities to capture some images today, but I did stop and take a few shots along the way.

I had numerous rain and snow showers along the drive. I crossed the continental divide in the Eisenhower tunnel - the highest vehicular tunnel in the world at 11,000 feet. Wish I had pulled over when I exited the tunnel into the truck brake check area and snapped a few images. Several inches of snow remained on the ground and trees from last night’s snow, but the roads were clear - just wet in spots.

I stopped at a scenic overlook at Silverthorne and had lunch. My first good snow shower began while I was finishing lunch. I had a brief heavy
Peak 1Peak 1Peak 1

Don't know why this is called Peak 1 but that's what the sign said at this overlook. I was at 9,150 feet here and went to the right of this peak to cross over Vail Pass. As you can see from these images, the sunny day I had from Limon to Denver quickly changed when I got into the mountains west of Denver.
snow shower on the way down from Vail pass (10,600) into Vail. It only lasted a few minutes, but big heavy flakes of snow were flying. The road even began to get a little white.

Later when I pulled off at another scenic overlook, I heard the rumble of thunder as I was getting back on the interstate. Fortunately that storm missed me.

I’m glad I drove further. I think Glenwood Springs will get some snow overnight. I could have been delayed - maybe have to stay an extra day. I think the winds were forecast to be stronger there as well. It’s gusting to around 25 mph where I am tonight. But all the weather is east of my location and it will be a VERY easy drive on in to Moab on Wednesday.

I checked the Colorado DOT website and it’s pretty treacherous tonight along I-70. Several areas are under mandatory restrictions with tire chains required for commercial vehicles. That was one thing I was amazed to see all along I-70 - “chain stations” - areas where trucks and buses can pull onto the shoulder to put tire chains on. Trucks are required to carry
Colorado RiverColorado RiverColorado River

I believe this was in Rifle, CO. I know I was at a rest stop and heard the train whistle and ran to an old bridge that crossed the Colorado River to get this image.
chains when they use I-70 from September - May. Another interesting observation - they have barricades all along I-70 - both in Kansas and Colorado - where they can shut down the interstate when the snow makes driving too hazardous.

Well that’s about it for tonight. Lots of photo ops await me in Moab!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

fall colorfall color
fall color

There is still some color along the rivers down at the lower elevations (5000 to 6000 feet). Every once in a while I'd see a few Aspen trees up higher with their leaves blowing in the wind.


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb