Walking on air?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
September 27th 2011
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After dropping my stuff in my hotel room (nice view of some mountains and a big blue bear statue), I set out walking. The altitude isn't really bothering me, but I am taking it a bit easy and not rushing. Walked over to the state capitol building and walked up the stairs so that I can actually say I was a mile above sea level. After that I walked over to the 16th Street Mall, which a shopping district about 3/4 of a mile long. It's closed to cars, but there is a free bus that runs along it. Walked to what was marked as the "Millenium Bridge" on my map, but was disappointed. To me, Bridge means a longish stretchover water. This was a very short span over train tracks. I'd hoped to get some pictures from it, but no go.

So far, this city is okay, but nothing spectacular. Saw some nice looking Victorian style houses on the way in from the airport, and downtown has some funky statues and big buildings, but it just seems like another big city (with a lot of homeless) to me. I'm hoping to hit a couple of museums tomorrow. There's one called the Money Museum that should be fun. And if I can find the Colorado History Museum, I want to go there.

So, we shall see. And I shall type at you....

Advertisement



30th September 2011

Just catching up
Dear Mindy, I am reading through a small collection of blogs -- it has been a while since I had the time. When you mentioned you were a mile above sea level, it reminded me of when we were at the Dead Sea in Israel. I don't remember how far below sea level that is . . . but it is certainly a nice comparison. Shanah Tova! (Happy 5772!)

Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb