Life at 5280


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Returning to Colorado has proven to be a continuation of my grand adventures, and a nonstop inspiration for insights. Its when I return to home-base; my world of familiarity that I really am provided insight into what happened while I was away.

As I fought armies of traffic and navigated the concrete jungle of cherry creek, I finally made my way to the mall. As I stepped into the seemingly diamond studded structure before me, the mixed aroma of Cinna-bon and perfume greeted my nose.

I am home.

Standing, in what for me, represents the the cornerstone American lifestyle, (consumerism that is) I was forced to question what I really thought; what I have learned from living abroad? Is this the good life? This, this rapid, class divisional, economy based society that races before me. Am I lucky? My mind is conflicted by the philosophies i think that "I am supposed to think" and being able to truly grasp the reality before me. In essence I am attempting to cut what I have been taught to think, and think deliberately taking the reality before to form thought.

In the end I conclude that , like all things, there is some bad some good. Light is contigent on dark, good on bad. This faced-paced technology dependent lifestyle keeps us away from our families. It keeps us from those days of doing nothing but playing with our children in the vast and luscious fields of corn. It geographically seperates us from those who need us most. These things sadden me, but in the end I am proud to walk through the Permanent American Citizens line at the airport. Why?

This fast-paced society afforded me an education past sixth grade. I can hike without a machete for protection. I have never truly been without the essentials of life. I have the best family and friends a girl could ask for. I am surrounded by support and love. An most of all, without the opportunities this economy has afforded me I wouldn't have these travel-influenced philosophies.

Im not proud of everything about America and by no means am a brute patriot but I suppose what I am getting at is that while this society gets under my skin and at times enrages me I have returned with a greater appreciation, not because I am supposed to, but because I really and truly understand what I have.

Other than philosophy updates, I have a few others. First, Ill be heading back to Gunnison in a week to get started on my second year. I found a beautiful red victorian house right near campus to live in. I'll be living with 2 other roommates, and my new dog! My Dad and Liz gave me a wonderful white and black birthday present. I named him Kailash which is a holy mountain for many religions in Tibet. He is so cute and fun, and I know he will love living in Gunni with me.

Hope all is well.
Bueno suerte a todos!

Lindsey

Advertisement



19th August 2008

Wise commentary
"In the end I conclude that , like all things, there is some bad some good... Im not proud of everything about America and by no means am a brute patriot but I suppose what I am getting at is that while this society gets under my skin and at times enrages me I have returned with a greater appreciation, not because I am supposed to, but because I really and truly understand what I have." Well said, Lindsey. And I might add that Americans have, at times, done wonderful things for the other people throughout the world as well. Complexity is certainly the appropriate word, though... Good luck getting started with year #2!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb