TV studios & triathlons


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
July 20th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Becca & I woke up early to head into Denver for a meeting she had. I sat in a cafe & emailed/blogged the morning away, and then met her at noon. Her meeting was in the KMGH Channel 7 studios, and Carrie treated me to a tour of the studios. It was very exciting for me- the first TV studios I've been in. Carrie was great- told me all about how the station & the news operates, and didn't mind me asking lots of questions & taking loads of photos. I even got a few cheeky shots in front of the TV cameras- if I'd known ahead of time I would have done my makeup!

We went to lunch at Benny's mexican restaurant for some yummy food before heading back to Boulder to drop of Becca at work. I went to Community Cycles to choose a new bike for my trip. The friendly chaps there helped me choose one for me, and were happy to help me adjust it. They are a great organisation which fixes up donated bikes, and then either sells them on, gives them away to organisations locally & globally, and has a cool workshop where people can go to learn bike maintenance.
Drive into DenverDrive into DenverDrive into Denver

Very confusing highway system that used to be called the mousetrap
I was able to get a used Trek in good condition (with a new rack!) for $60 (30 quid), which is cheaper than renting one for 2 days! Ruber & I plan to take them with us on our RV trip to ride around the national parks, so it's ideal really.

In the evening, we went to a pre-triathlon benefit dinner hosted by Barry & his organisation, 5430sports. There were some great speakers, including Sister Madonna Buder, who at the age of 77 has done over 30 Ironman triathlons- total respect goes out to her. Becca made out like a bandit in the auction- I might have to make a trip back to Boulder to help her enjoy the trip to Steamboat she won! I made out with some yummy treats, including some of Boulder's famous almond butter (Justin's nut butter).

After the dinner Becca, Tyson & I headed out to some of Boulder's bars, including the Purple Martini and teh Pearl Street Pub. Becca had won a free bottle of vodka at the Purple Martini, with very tight strings attached (we had to be there with at least 5 people no earlier than 10.30 pm, etc). Needless to say I would
The control roomThe control roomThe control room

These are the radio scanners which let the station know what is going on in the area- they pick up the police broadcasts so they know when breaking news happens.
not recommend this place unless you get a bottle of vodka for free- it was too loud for normal conversation, in a mall, and service was pretty dire. We ended up having a great time at the Pearl Street Pub though, I hope we go back! Becca's friends were a lot of fun, and randomly one of them went to my middle school in Princeton the same time I was there....

(I'm still trying to restore the photos for this blog, check back later for them)


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

EE takes controlEE takes control
EE takes control

I decided to lend a hand
BroadcastingBroadcasting
Broadcasting

This is the room where the producer sits when the news goes out- so they can see which news feed & story they need to switch to
View from the topView from the top
View from the top

View of the TV studio from the top- there are lots of different areas for broadcasting the news, weather, sports...
"Sunny with a chance of light winds""Sunny with a chance of light winds"
"Sunny with a chance of light winds"

actually I think I look more like a game show host in this one....I need to improve my weather presentation skills
Hang on...Hang on...
Hang on...

I'm not Cristine Chang!


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb