Spring time in CO


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Crested Butte
January 19th 2005
Published: January 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, it's a laundry day, which also means it's time to say hello from Crested Butte. Here's the latest.

So last I wrote Dave and I were in Durango, getting a little restless. The weather was beautiful, but a lot of the roads were still closed. I found out on Wed of that week that Silverton was without power, and all roads into the town were closed, and the website had big bold red lettering telling people that anyone with a reservation for Thurs and Fri would have to cancel and get a refund. So no Silverton for Dave and I, of course the people at the mountain swore up and down that this NEVER happens, and that they hadn't seen this much snow in 15 years. So instead of making the trip to Silverton that Thurs, I decided to do a day of snow cat skiing, knock another thing off the "I've never done that before" list. We had to stay in wooded areas the entire day due to avalanche danger, but it was still a great day. Freshies all day long, and the scenery was wonderful. The cat left from the Purgatory resort and went north, deeper into the San Juan mountains. The guy who runs the operation (Bob) has access to 35,000 acres, and his life seems to consist of skiing nearly every day, and his most difficult decision each day is to figure out where the best snow is. Tough life. I met some interesting people, and a lot of Californians (I'm getting the impression that Californians and Texans are taking over the country).

My time is up on this computer, more later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb