Cheyenne Mountain Zoo


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

October 29 Saturday
Getting cooler here high of 62 today and tomorrow 55. I is supposed to snow again on Wednesday but I am leaving on Tuesday.
Just took it easy today and drank my tea and thought things over.


October 30 Sunday
Today I Went to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo. It is built on the side of the mountain with lots of uphill walking to view the exhibits. After walking about ¾ of the way up and thinking that they should have a shuttle which would bring you to the top so you could walk down viewing they exhibits I found out they DID have a free shuttle which did that very thing…… !! So I finished viewing the exhibits and then took the free shuttle DOWN. Oh well……guess I got my exercise for today. The ticket for the zoo also allowed you to visit the Will Rogers Shrine of the Sun further up the mountain at 8000 ft with some splendid views of the canyons and valley below. I mainly wanted to see the Grizzly Bear and for once I got a close look at one as he came right up to the front by me. I was really impressed by how huge and solid he was. A massive and powerful mass of muscle. Really an incredible animal up close.
The picture of the shrine of the sun from the zoo is zoomed in. It was a fairly long drive up a steep mountain road to it.
After touring the zoo I made a stab at driving up the North Cheyenne Canyon Road but ran into some Ice and snow on the road again and thought better of it.
When I finished my touring for the day I went back to the hotel and had a baked potato with whole wheat bread and tea.
I guess tomorrow I will load up everything into my truck except for what I will need tomorrow night and Tuesday morning I will check out and head south on I-25 taking the scenic route back to Texas on I-25 to Los Cruces, New Mexico and then across on I-10 home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Shrine of the sunShrine of the sun
Shrine of the sun

8000 feet elevation


6th November 2011

Looks like you've encountered a bit of winter
You've had a nice road trip. Loved the photos.
8th November 2011

Winter closing in
I really enjoyed my time at The Springs and stayed about 2 and a half weeks. I deliberately stayed for the first big snow and enjoyed it then left just before the second snow storm blew in. I will definately go back again next year for a bit to drive the Gold Camp Road all the way from Colorado Springs to Cripple Creek as well as explore some other areas.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb