Posh shops in Aspen


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Carbondale
April 21st 2013
Published: April 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 2

Yes I am loving Colorado - Pat picked me up and we drove 3 hours through the mountains to where he lives 2 miles up a winding road from the valley at El Jebel. Our nearest town is Carbondale. And at about 6000ft high we have fantastic views from this lovely house. Pat and his wife Velma stayed with me as an Intervac hospitality exchange about 4 years ago - and so now they are returning the swap. The house is beautifully designed with lots of wood and windows- quite becoming for a mountain perch... I am very happy here. They have a car for me to borrow-so I have already driven the SUV yesterday and today I had the big Buick!!!! - so many controls I felt like a pilot. But of course the roads are great - wide, two lanes and lights at intersection with clear signs...and this car has a SatNav sustem built in - even better than my Sally Satnav - a real person asks you where you want to go and then sends instructions to the car and driver !!!

I have a very nice bedroom with views to the mountains and was a little surprised to wake up to see it was snowing ... cue a few hours later and it was melting and I was on my way to Aspen.

A ski resort closing down for the season is always a bit of a sad place to visit - and so not much was open. It is a mecca for the rich and famous not that I saw anyone famous - biut the VERY POSH shops tell it all.

After a hot choc and a small donut I was on my way back - driving again through lovely mountain scenery with several changes of rock and every now and then these gorgeous red rocks- well I am going to be seeing a lot more of them in the next few weeks.

A 2 day trip planned for tomorrow to Moab - Arches and Canyonlands National Parks - weather forecast 72 deg ( they are on fahrenheit here) and sunny so I might even get my shorts on... ( it will be a nice change from the snow today).

Bye for now my lovlies...thanks for the comments and yes Patricia lets go to Iceland one day and maybe I can download that book onto my Kindle.

xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

TallyTally
Tally

Nice dog she likes me.


21st April 2013

Lovely photos
What wonderful scenery. How's the air density at that elevation? Get autographs if you see any movie stars. Looking forward to reading more of your blog. Stay safe,warm and happy. BJ
21st April 2013

Don't let Aspen fool you
It does a grand summer business. Lots of hiking and music. You've hit it at the in between stage. It will be rocking again soon.
22nd April 2013

I can't keep up with you
Hi Lynn, I am finding it hard to keep up with you , Aspen looks devine , are you going to do some skiing? you are looking really well ,must be all that travelling.Maureen tells us she will be meeting up with you in France,to see the sights. We are all travelling O/S this year Susan is going to America, Martine who you did not meet, is off to Africa , and Iam going to Russia and China with a friend from WA. in August . I hope to see you some where around the World. Have fun, and what ever you do be good at it. love Wilma.
22nd April 2013

Good job that bear wasn't real! xx
22nd April 2013

Why donĀ“t you stay in your garden, 87 a Green Way ...
It looks so nice and we do hope you will have a tremendous time over there. Still some snow at Stocklycke
24th April 2013
In Aspen (5)

Love traveling with you through Aspen, looking forward to your next posting. Blessings, BJ

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb