Last minute shenanigans


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
July 23rd 2014
Published: July 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Quit procrastinatingQuit procrastinatingQuit procrastinating

Source: http://bit.ly/1rRQcb2
I'm the queen of procrastination. I have started (or dreamed up) dozens of projects and ideas that were never seen to fruition. About 3 months ago, one of those ideas was to drive from California to Canada. I talked about it, dreamed, looked up the routes, and schemed.

However, July rolled around, and I was sitting at home, not driving to Canada.

This morning, my best friends' mom called me, to check-in and to see how life was.



"I'm apathetic," I told her. As a teacher, I have several weeks off in the summer, and for once, I'm not teaching summer school. And, instead of enjoying the time off, I'm bored. :/ Teachers loathe August, look forward to Christmas/Spring/Summer break like a fly towards smelly cheese; yet when I have this time-off, I'm bored! .

Not phased by my whining, she fired back with: "If you had one week left on earth, what would you do?"



"Drive to Portland?" I answered nonchalantly.



The silence that followed was obvious. Take your butt off your privileged coach and do something memorable. My mom echoed the same sentiment at a
Time to hit the roadTime to hit the roadTime to hit the road

Source: http://bit.ly/1od4Oun
coffee-shop later this afternoon.



So here I am, trying to do something memorable.







One of my students gave a speech last term, encouraging his peers to do something memorable with their summer break. He left the Spring term a week early to get a job on a fishing vessel in Alaska. That is pretty memorable. I remember sitting in the audience, grading the speech thinking, "jeez, what am I doing that is memorable this summer?"



I never do anything memorable.



Not this summer!



I will do something epic! I will drive up the west coast!

Thus begins my adventure...errr, in 8 hours, after I wake up and pack, to lands unknown! To Seattle (and epic coffee) , to Portland and hipsters, and maybe (if I have time)... Victoria -- Canada .



Hopefully I do not chicken out in the morning.

-LaTexafornian

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb