Traveling by Foot - Woman's Day 2013


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
March 8th 2013
Published: March 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Traveling is a passion of mine; Santa Barbara, California is one of my favorite local escapes and now I get to combine these two for one great event.

I've committed to participating in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. It's a big commitment one that will require me to spend the next several months training and fundraising. But breast cancer is a big disease one that still affects far too many people and I'm determined to do everything I can to help put an end to it.

The money I raise will be managed and disbursed by the Avon Foundation Breast Cancer Crusade to help provide access to care for those who most need it fund educational programs and accelerate research into new treatments and potential cures. I'll be just one of thousands of people who will walk up to 39.3 miles over two days raising awareness promoting education.

I can't do it without your help. Though I'm required to raise at least $1800 to walk in the event I plan to raise much more! I hope that I can count on your support.

You can make a donation right here by clicking "Donate Now". I have been so blessed with responses from family, friends, colleuges and here is an email from a former student.


"Hi ,Elyse, thanks for your letter. After reading your email , I am glad to hear that you have joined in that activity, where you can help others . And I also want to be a part of you or support you , but after trying a lot of times , I failed to donate to you, because I only have the bank account of China . So I have to say sorry here. However I will bless you all the time .May you succeed. sincerely, Jackie"





As I prepare for this exciting event I plan to update this page frequently so that all my supporters like you can follow my progress so please visit often. While you're here you might want to spend some time on the site to find out more information on why this event is so important and the organizations and people that will be helped by the money we all raise.


I am walking in honor of Jessica Strader, 29, who passed from Breast Cancer in Feb 2013 after battling the disease for 3 years which spread to her brain and spine and Becky Williams, 61, who passed from Breast Cancer in Jan 2013 after battling the disease and complications from the treatment for 1.5 years . Each of these ladies carried their heads high with a big smile on their face.

I am also walking for all the Survivors in my life: Georgianna Winter my Mother in Law; Connie Anderson my Mother's former coworker; Phyllis Dyer my Mother's high school friend and Sally Evankoe my Mother's college friend. All of these woman have made a positive impact in my life and I want to honor each one of them and the struggles they have gone through. The aches pains and discomfort I may endure during this 2 day 39.3 mile walk is nothing to what these women have battled.



Here's to Woman's Health & International Woman's Day 2013!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb