Where is February 20, 2013?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
February 11th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

While putting together a few things for the trip this morning I was going over our itinerary in my mind. We leave next Tuesday, February 19th and will be on the first flight for 16 hours, arriving in Taipei on Thursday, February 21st. 16 hours on a plane has been a daunting thought, although I have plans to sleep a signifcant portion of that time. It was not until today that I thought of this in another, slightly disturbing light. I will never live on February 20, 2013. That day will just disappear. Ok, well not really. We'll be on a plane, but for all practical purposes, this day is gone. I am sure frequent world travelers are used to this idea, but it seems odd to me. Of course, this idea can be comforted that I will get to live the day we return to the states nearly twice right?

This idea aside, we will be leaving knowing that Matt's film, Garden City/LITTOA, the 3D animated short he co-wrote/directed, etc. for the last 8 years with his friend Dave Bokser, will be complete and submitted to various festivals (Cannes, SIGGRAPH, etc) while we are gone, not to mention 300+ other festivals by the end of the year. I will also leave relieved that my mom's dog, Ginger, is recooperating nicely from her still unidentified illness (even after Xrays, MRI, two blood transfusions and near biopsy) that cause her to almost completely stop eating and drinking for more than 2 weeks. After a year of such great loss, I feel truely blessed. Today my heart is happy.

With that I am ready to explore Asia..but man I'm going to miss these kids (see picture)...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb