Arriving in Sunny California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
July 22nd 2007
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am now in California. The flight was, predictably, long, boring and uncomfortable as flights generally are. I arrived in LA and had fun and games getting through customs. The airport staff in America seem to regard everyone as a potential terrorist or something and were decidedly unfriendly. In addition to showing my passport I had my photograph taken and my fingerprints scanned, and then instead of finally being free to enter the country I had to join a massive queue... all for the sake of showing my passport to someone else (who made me repeat everything I said twice and looked very suspicious when I gave him the address where I was staying because I didn't know the exact house number) After assuring him a few times that I had a friend waiting outside for me and I really did have a definite address to go to I finally managed to escape.

I found Keely waiting for me with two of her friends, Trevor and Natalie. They hurried me to the car park and Natalie turned and asked me 'D'ya wanna ride shotgun?' Alright, so I am familiar with the expression, but seriously after a long haul flight and an 8 hour time difference I think the totally blank look I gave them was quite understandable and there really was no need to have such hysterics over my confusion!! We eventually all piled into the car and set off. Los Angeles was very warm and the sky had an intersting yellow glow to it - which was apparently smog. Trevor helpfully wound down the window so I could breathe in my 'first LA pollution' as he put it until Keely yelled at him to close the window so we could have the air conditioning on.

I alternatvely dozed and attempted to make conversation as we drove to Natalie's house for dinner, since it was the closest. I managed to pick at my first authentic Mexican food (Natalie and her family are mexican) but didn't eat much due to the fact as far as I was concerned it was about 5am and since I had two meals on the flight it was actually my fifth meal of the day!!

We drove onto Keely's apartment in Lake Forest and I met her roomate Jen (who was furious at me for not having managed to finish the last Harry Potter book on the flight and thus preventing her from being able to discuss it beyond the cover... which we did manage to do, comparing the American and British editions) I also met keely's cats, and her rat. I finally got to bed at around midnight local time.



Advertisement



21st December 2008

Comments
Hey, thanks for the comments - I enjoyed reading your blogs. Here's to happy travelling.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb