California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
January 5th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


San DiegoSan DiegoSan Diego

Little outdoor market in San Diego - the old town.

I took a monstrous strip from San Diego to San Francisco. Started out visiting my brother in San Diego, than travelled by myself to San Francisco where I attended a very lovely wedding.



I never blogged about it because I am lazy, so feel free to contact me if you need info. But here are the pics!

Travelled up Route 1 mostly,
Hit up LA, stopped in San Luis Obispo at the Hostel, roamed around
Hearst Castle
stayed 1 night in Monterrey (for some unknown reason- kind of touristy)
Went all along Route 1 up through Steinbeck Country
Stopped off all along the way to hike (just a little) and see the Henry Miller Museum.
Stayed in San Francisco for a while (found a great hotel for around $75 a night right near Chinatown. Great deal. NO bugs)
Hit up Muir Woods, hit up a gay club until I had to go home when I realized they only had urinals
Generally had a lovely time, except for running that red light in San Francisco when it took my picture.
Still waiting for the rental place to send me my $400 ticket.

Missed a lot of stuff,
San Diego BertasSan Diego BertasSan Diego Bertas

Best Spanish food in town! Old town. Berta's.
and hope to head back soon.

If you're ever afraid to travel by yourself - SHUCKS! Travelling in the US is fun and how lost can you get?


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Del Mar San DiegoDel Mar San Diego
Del Mar San Diego

Gotta go to a horse race in San Diego. Del Mar!
L.A. L.A.
L.A.

BORING! I guess I didn't know where to go in L.A. Best if you want to visit friends only.
My RentalMy Rental
My Rental

I went to the rental place at a busy time, and they had run out of compact cars, so the guy gave me this convertable instead!
Route 1 Route 1
Route 1

Beautiful and SCARY!
Hearst CastleHearst Castle
Hearst Castle

Must See! Make sure you buy a ticket online ahead of time, or you'll have to wait a couple of hours.
Hearst Castle PoolHearst Castle Pool
Hearst Castle Pool

This pool is unfortunately made of lead, so no one can swim in it anymore!
Hearst Castle PoolHearst Castle Pool
Hearst Castle Pool

This pool is not made of lead, and every year the employees throw a party and swim in it (unheated and it's at the top of a mountain) You can imagine how cold it is.
Hearst CastleHearst Castle
Hearst Castle

Hearst was a billionaire by today's standards until Roosevelt enacted income tax. At that point he owed the Federal Government 80% of his income and almost declared bankruptcy. He was bailed out by his mistress - a famous actress.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb