Day 2 - Yosemite National Park


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Closing InClosing InClosing In

Getting closer to Yosemite.
When I told my friend Mike Swinson that I was headed west and would begin in Reno, he said "You are going to Yosemite..right?" Until then, I had not even considered going to Yosemite. I was looking north, and Yosemite was about 2 1/2 hours to the south. After my conversation with Mike, I realized that I did not need to be this close to an American treasure and not see it. All I can say is, "Thank you, Mike."

My trip to Yosemite would be through Carson City to a small community in California called Lee Vining. From there I would take Highway 120 West toward Tioga Pass in the Park. The problem was the Pass was not open all the way into the Park because the roads had not been cleared of snow. I would only be able to go about 12 miles. That is the bad news. The good news is all the people were on the west side of the Park. I had the 12 mile stretch almost to myself. Perfect, since I was limited on time.

The photos I will post will in no way tell the total story of what it was like
Head toward Tioga PassHead toward Tioga PassHead toward Tioga Pass

You ain't seen nothing yet!
to be there. Following the road as far as possible would be one of the most moving and emotional times of my life. I cannot tell you what it was like to view the snow and the mountains as I made my way up to 10,000 feet above sea level. I have never felt closer to God than when I stood in the cold with the winds about to blow me over viewing what He had created. It was a feeling like I have never had before. I felt so small and my world so insignificant. It might sound crazy but all I wanted to do was pray...so I did...a lot.

I will post as many photos as I can. I hope you enjoy!

Today's quote..."To the laborer in the sweat of his labor, the raw stuff of his anvil is an adversary to be conquered. So was wilderness an adversary of the pioneer. But to the laborer in repose, able for the moment to cast a philosophical eye on his world, that same raw stuff is something to be loved and cherished, because it gives definition and meaning to his life." Aldo Leopold



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

8,000 feet8,000 feet
8,000 feet

2,000 more to go
9,000 feet9,000 feet
9,000 feet

My ears are popping!
Serious SnowSerious Snow
Serious Snow

I think the post is 6 1/2 to 7 feet tall.
A ComparisonA Comparison
A Comparison

Check out how deep the snow is compared to my Santa Fe.
End of the lineEnd of the line
End of the line

I can't go any further.
Forest RangerForest Ranger
Forest Ranger

A nice Forest Ranger with a big hand gun made sure I stayed in line. :-)
Ranger's HomeRanger's Home
Ranger's Home

The Rangers had shoveled a path to be able to open the front door of their cabin.
Snow up to the roofSnow up to the roof
Snow up to the roof

That is some serious snow!
Attempt at CreativityAttempt at Creativity
Attempt at Creativity

Can you see the mountain as you look through the arch?
Tioga LakeTioga Lake
Tioga Lake

Frozen solid. I sat on a rock and ate lunch here.
Beginning to MeltBeginning to Melt
Beginning to Melt

The snow is beginning to melt and reveals a beautiful stream underneath.
Tioga Resort CabinsTioga Resort Cabins
Tioga Resort Cabins

How does the roof support all the snow?
Wayne's Holy PlaceWayne's Holy Place
Wayne's Holy Place

It was here at another frozen lake that I felt so close to God. It was a rather eerie feeling.
Another View of My Special PlaceAnother View of My Special Place
Another View of My Special Place

I have claimed this place as my own! :-)
I Did Make One FriendI Did Make One Friend
I Did Make One Friend

I was busy taking pictures and looked down and I was not alone. I had visions of the squirrel in Christmas Vacation.
DiagramDiagram
Diagram

Tell what you are looking at in the previous photo.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb