Peanuts Museum


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sebastopol
April 22nd 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey, Charlie Brown--Hey, Charlie Brown--Hey, Charlie Brown--

Charlie greets people at the front of the museum.

(Mt Gilead Bible Camp and Conference Center)

This is my last entry from this camp; we will be leaving tomorrow after lunch. Barney & Bea are headed home until fall, but Henry & Ann and Leroy & Arlene are going on to the next project with us, so that’s good.

We have 1350 miles to travel (and diesel is $4.34 a gallon…we have a 100 gallon tank~~yikes!) We need to be there by May 2nd (hi, Megan!) but we’ll be spending the weekend in Seattle with a good friend of ours.

We, women, have finished painting the bedrooms in the dorms (twelve bedrooms total~~primed and painted~~plus four hallways). We spent this week priming and painting a small cottage that some of the summer staff live in. I’m looking forward to a short break from painting, although I’m sure we’ll be paint in Prince George. I truly don’t mind painting, but this job seemed longer because I spent three weeks painting virtually the same bedroom. Every room looks the same, with the same furniture to move and the same sink area to paint around! Painting the cottage has been a nice change!

The men
Tile picture.Tile picture.Tile picture.

The artisan used 3,588 ceramic tiles, or about ten years’ worth of daily strips to create this mural. Each strip was hand selected to create a secondary scene of Lucy holding a football for Charlie. Schulz changed the size of his comic strips many times, so the artist only used strips between 1956 to 1988. If you enlarge this picture you’ll more clearly see how it was designed.
have not been quite as productive…the roof for the gazebo has given them fits. The angles of the rafters are very tricky, and they’ve not accomplished as much as they’d hoped. But they’re leaving a task that someone else will be able to finish in a week or so. Plus, it rained yesterday afternoon, and all night, so that put a halt to the cutting and pounding.

Bob and I went to the Charles Schulz (Peanuts) museum Sunday, and I’ll get those pictures on this entry.

I probably won’t post another entry until we get to Ness Lake (Prince George). Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, and for viewing my pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Woodstock's creation!Woodstock's creation!
Woodstock's creation!

This is in the “yard” behind the museum. The structure is about 4’ tall. The kite eating tree is also there! The yard is made to look like the Peanuts’ neighborhood.
LinusLinus
Linus

Another yard figure.
WoodstockWoodstock
Woodstock

This is inside the museum. Most of the museum was off limits to cameras.
This is Henry’s turkey! This is Henry’s turkey!
This is Henry’s turkey!

We're out fo the museum! We were driving along the soccer field and stopped the Jeep to look at him.
Full bloom.Full bloom.
Full bloom.

He didn’t stay like this very long, just long enough to make his point. But every time I opened the door, he puffed up again! (and the hen isn’t even all that cute!)


23rd April 2008

Thanks for the journey
Thanks so much for the wonderful journey down the West Coast. You will never know what it delight it is when you blog arrives in my email. I generally stop what I am doing to so I can see where you have been. On days that are really overloaded with work, it is a pleasant treat. I guarantee your blogs always bring a smile to my face. Thank you for being you! Much love, Margo
23rd April 2008

Safe Travel
Remember we are praying for you as you travel to your new spot. We will miss your blogs so hurry!!!Each one is like a phone call with a hug and they help shorten the distance between you and Montana. Hey! Did you notice a resemblance between Bob and Charlie Brown????
27th April 2008

Thanks so much, Margo!
I'm glad to have something to do with my news and my pictures, and to know others appreciate it makes it all the better! East coast next year!!!
27th April 2008

That's why I had Bob leave his glasses on!
Plus, he left his Charley Brown shirt at home! We covet your prayers during our travel time (and always!) We were so confident before we met the stone wall, and now we're tense about driving. I know miles will make that better, but I'll be glad we aren't nervous. Being smarter apparently makes me nervous!

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb