Raccoons Understand Shakespeare


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Cruz
August 25th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

by Austin Girl
http://www.austingirlblog.blogspot.com

Just flew in from Santa Cruz, CA. I saw Shakespeare's "Romeo & Juliet" and "All's Well That Ends Well" in the redwood forest. Does anyone understand the latter play? It wasn't the playwright's typical tragedy or comedy. OMG! When the sun goes down, temperatures descend faster than Angelina Jolie can adopt another baby. Holy crap it was cold!

There are raccoons in the redwood forest. Bunches! And, the lil critters never miss a rehearsal -- this is what I was told. They would sit in the outdoor chairs during the day watching the actors practice on stage.

I fell asleep during "All's Well That Ends Well" until an orphaned raccoon rattled a garbage can nearby jolting me from my dream -- a nightmare actually centering on a family of problem raccoons.

The head raccoon a.k.a. 'Count Raccoon' forced me to confess to the director that I loved her “All’s Well That Ends Well,” even though I felt the play was unworthy of my attention. I was ordered to watch it again - and again. The torture. The madness. It became apparent to me that I was in hell: raccoon hell.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb