I could get used to this....


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(The Master's College)

Happy Birthday to my dear grandma!

The Master’s College is north of LA, and I will tell you more about that later. The important thing is that we have cell service AND internet! And a new couple on our team: Kyle and Carolyn are from Illinois.

Being back at a college is exciting. We’re on the north campus, and it's mostly music majors and biblical counseling. I walked along the outside of the classroom building behind us, there was music coming from every room! There are senior recitals scheduled almost every night we’re here~~also, several musical groups coming in. Our project director brought around a sheet of classes that we could sit in on, and many of them looked very interesting, but with us only being here for a short time, I don’t know how worthwhile it would be. I considered taking Greek or Hebrew, because how long could those languages take to learn?! But I decided to skip the whole classroom scene.

When we were at Three Hills Bible College in Canada, they focused on giving missionaries another skill that would allow them into the countries that don’t allow missionaries….they trained nurses, teachers,
I can't get it out of my mind I can't get it out of my mind I can't get it out of my mind

that the tide has very little to do with wind. When I see waves this high, I think the wind must be blowing. Not necessarily.
carpenters and similar skills; but The Master’s College is a liberal arts college. There is a seminary connected, but those buildings are on the Grace Community Church campus. (Our Bible study will be led by different seminary students.) This college has between 1200 and 1500 students, so it’s really hopping around here. We are able to eat in the cafeteria (which bears no resemblance to the cafeteria we had in college!) as well as the sandwich shop. They’re bookstore is amazing.

We attended Grace Community Church in Sun Valley this morning (it’s really in Santa Clarita, and I’ll cover this later.) John MacArthur is the pastor-teacher, as well as the president of The Master’s College. The sanctuary held about 3500 people, but it’s set on a campus of several buildings~~adult Bible class building, college age, children’s building, etc. We were told there are approximately 8,000 people on the campus for morning worship, which began with class, from 8:30 to 10:00, and then services from 10:30 to noon. And, except that the sun was shining outside, we could have kept listening, if he’d kept talking. Although it’s a 40 minute drive, we may choose to attend there for the rest
My first attempt at surfing.My first attempt at surfing.My first attempt at surfing.

Oh, wait, that's not me. Maybe in my dreams, but not in real life. Darn....
of this gig.

Saturday we went with Wayne and Lois to Ventura to wade in the ocean. It was warm until we got to the water, and then we went back for our jackets. I’ll include pictures.

This is really a switch on jobs~~guess who’s NOT painting! And then guess who is! The guys are painting some houses on campus, beginning on the outside, and saving the inside until it either rains or they finish the outside. We are working in the library, as well as doing office work, and a few other jobs.

This morning I cleaned the apartment of one of the dorm assistants. I really don’t understand why she gets it cleaned for her, but on the other hand, I don’t have to! The rest of the week I will be filing and typing in the Biblical Counseling Department. All that, and the sun is shining.

If you are feeling good about your age vs appearance (which I can’t say I am) you should go hang around a college campus. Do they let 12 year olds go to college, or am I just out of touch?! Boy do I feel old. How
Surfers galore...Surfers galore...Surfers galore...

There were about 30 surfers in this particular area. I've never seen any surfing, so to watch this many choose their waves, and try to stay up was really interesting. They spend more time waiting than they do surfing. Or at least they did in this instance. They all had on wet/dry suits, and some even had caps that fit over their ears, and shoes. The weather wasn't cold, but boy the ocean was!
can they look so young when I only feel 30?




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Our front yard is paved.Our front yard is paved.
Our front yard is paved.

So is our side yard, and our backyard is a building! That made us wonder, if you put lawn chairs on blacktop, are they still lawn chairs?
Fruit everywhere...Fruit everywhere...
Fruit everywhere...

not really everywhere, but we do have three trees behind Dave's unit~~lemon, orange, and grapefruit. We stripped the remainder of the fruit from the grapefruit tree, and the oranges aren't quite ready yet. The lemons look like lemon shaped oranges...the skins are golden yellow, and the pulp is almost orange. They taste like a sweet lemon (I know, I'd never had a sweet lemon either, and I don't mean these are sweet like the grapefruit, I mean they're sweeter than the lemons I was familiar with.)
The plaza by the dining room.The plaza by the dining room.
The plaza by the dining room.

College dining rooms in no way resemble the dining room when I went to college. Not one bit....
The green buildings are the Biblical CounselingThe green buildings are the Biblical Counseling
The green buildings are the Biblical Counseling

complex, and the Music Center. There's a concrete courtyard between them. If you look at the center of the picture you'll see a red suv...we're parked in front of him....backed up to the music buildings.
Our March ProjectOur March Project
Our March Project

In the lower right you'll see Hemet (Nov-Jan project) North of there is Yucaipa, and then to the west is Santa Clarita. Santa Clarita is a city, but it also has cities within it~~I know, I don't get it either. We're in Newhall, in Santa Clarita?????


9th March 2008

Nice photos
nice photos
13th March 2008

Thank you!
And thanks for visiting my site.

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb